Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

June Singing

Alpharetta Municipal Building, Alpharetta, Georgia

Sunday, June 11, 2017

The 149th annual session of the June Singing was held on the second Sunday in June at the Alpharetta Municipal Building. Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 46. John Plunkett offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Janice Paulk 32t; Helen Bryson and Buck Bailey 75; John Plunkett 74b, 50t; Richard DeLong 36b, 100; Susan Posey 146, 475; Ben Fink 313b, 486; Mike Castleberry 401, 490; Janice Paulk 337, 448b; Dave Farmer 84, 324; Tony Hammock 321, 196; Dan Bailey 66, 569b.


Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 67. The class entered into a business session. The following were elected to serve: Chairman—Faye Holbrook; Vice Chairman—Mike Castleberry; Secretary—Helen Bryson.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 155 (for Charlene Wallace), 171; Malinda Snow 384, 276; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 566, 340; Fallon Cook 37b, 59; Dalton Lewis 472, 354b; Donna Bell 300, 435 (for Lynn Munroe and Patricia Stough Wallace); Ben Fink 315; Lisa Bennett 142, 204.

Malinda Snow conducted the memorial lesson. She explained what a memorial lesson is for the new singers. As singers we are a community and as such we sing together, sit, eat, and support each other. We are travelers and we support each other in our journey. And as we travel, we have hope for another life. Malinda led 460, remembering the following deceased: B.M. Smith, Earlis McGraw, Hugh McGraw, William Posey, Gail Jackson, and Harold DeLong—Georgia.

We remember the following sick and shut-ins: Sue Haney, Jack Paulk, and Karen Rollins. Faye Holbrook closed the lesson with prayer.


Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 455. Leaders: David Smead 287, 370; Virginia Dyer 137, 112; Eric Tweedy 240, 377; Chris Tweedy 52t, 156; Jesse Roberts 172, 392; Chance Cook 192; John Plunkett 409; Helen Bryson 176t; Janice Paulk 517; Mike Castleberry 512; Tony Hammock 383; Richard DeLong 45t (by request); Lisa Bennett and Richard DeLong 510; Malinda Snow 556; Dave Farmer 178; Bert Collins and Glenda Collins 101t; Dalton Lewis 40; Susan Posey 503; Fallon Cook 186; David Smead 314; Donna Bell 176b; Jesse Roberts 380; Eric Tweedy 347.

Announcements were made. Faye Holbrook and Mike Castleberry led 549 as closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Jesse Roberts.

Chairman—Faye Holbrook; Vice Chairman—Mike Castleberry; Secretary—Helen Bryson