Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shaker Meetinghouse and
Francis Bliss Memorial Singing

Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village, New Gloucester, Maine

Saturday, June 3, 2017

The 10th annual Shaker Meetinghouse and Francis Bliss Singing was held in the Meetinghouse at Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village in New Gloucester, Maine. At 1:00 p.m., Barb Ames welcomed everyone and brought the class to order leading 49t. Chuck Micciche offered the opening prayer. Barb Ames and Meg Haskell led the class in singing the Shaker songs “Precious Gospel Kindred” and “We Are Strong”.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairperson—Barb Ames; Treasurer—Corrone Bryant; Arranging Committee/Secretary—Pleasance Crawford and Chuck Crawford.

Leaders: Chuck Crawford 225t; Corrone Bryant 59; Bobbie Goodell 344; Chris Holley 500; Sara Sandberg 503; Kris Paprocki 448b; Jesse Vear 527; Andy Alter 455; Robert Stoddard 480; Ally Talbot 86; Patrick Friesen 354b; Pat Callahan 318; Ethan McNerney and Carly Goss 324; Philippa Stoddard 40; Kerry Cullinan 163b; Celia Devine 312b; Chuck Micciche 368; Elizabeth Stoddard 513; Marilyn Murata 200; Chris McKnight 360; Corrone Bryant 77b; Pleasance Crawford 353; John Hughes 171.


Pat Callahan called the class to order leading 270. Leaders: Carly Goss 430; Jesse Flynn 105; Inez Luttgen 269; Chris Nicholson 34b; Emma Swartz 196; Eric Sandberg 299; Joan Frankel and Chris Holley 414; Laura Hodges 187; Stephanie Kierstead 313t; Annie Nixon 155; Kathe Pilibosian 422; Karen Mathews 28t; Liz Cantrell 91; Patrick Friesen 159; Philippa Stoddard 548; Ethan McNerney and Carly Goss 272; Kerry Cullinan 549; Celia Devine 198; Chuck Micciche 87; Marilyn Murata 218; Chris McKnight 453; Carly Goss 542; John Hughes 486; Inez Luttgen 278t; Joan Frankel 284; Laura Hodges 73t; Chris Nicholson 235; Karen Mathews 547; Pat Callahan 313b; Liz Cantrell 142; Kris Paprocki 232; Emma Swartz 36b; Ally Talbot 127. Barb Ames led the Shaker song “We Will All Go Home with You”.

Barb Ames reported that expenses were met. She further stated that the class of eighty-one singers came from seven states and one Canadian province, and that thirty-six leaders led sixty Sacred Harp songs and three Shaker songs. Barb Ames thanked all for traveling to the singing; the Sabbathday Lake Shaker community for their hospitality; the officers and others for helping; and the cooks for providing the evening meal.

Barb led 347 as the closing song, and those who wished took the parting hand. Liz Callahan offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed to the Dining Room in the Dwelling House, where all joined hands with Brother Arnold for a silent grace before the evening meal.


Following the evening meal, some of those attending the afternoon session reconvened in the rotunda of the 1893 State of Maine Building on the grounds of the Poland Springs Resort. Leaders: Robert Stoddard 38t (CB); Kerry Cullinan 273 (CB); Marilyn Murata 571 (CB); Chris Nicholson 393 (CB); Andy Alter 392 (CB); Elizabeth Stoddard 150 (CB); Jesse Flynn 505 (CB); Chris Nicholson 558 (CB); Eva Murray 137 (CB); Liz Cantrell 458 (CB); Alex Samaras 463 (CB); Ally Talbot 511t (CB); Pleasance Crawford 512 (CB); Patrick Friesen 516 (CB); Robert Stoddard 514 (CB); Kris Paprocki 295 (CB); Chris Holley 527 (CB); Jesse Vear 176b (CB); Elizabeth Stoddard 39 (CB); Philippa Stoddard 138t (CB); Andy Alter 274t (CB).


Robert Stoddard called the class back to order leading 54t (CB). Leaders: Pleasance Crawford 411 (CB); Kerry Cullinan 504t (CB); Chris Nicholson 182 (CB); Chuck Micciche 282 (CB); Chris Holley 580 (CB); Patrick Friesen 464 (CB); Laura Hodges 559 (CB); Joan Frankel 312 (CB); Kathe Pilibosian 522 (CB); Robert Stoddard 133 (CB); Jesse Vear 416t (CB); Kris Paprocki 225t (CB); Marilyn Murata 229 (CB); Elizabeth Stoddard 552 (CB); Robert Stoddard 70b (CB).

Chairman—Barb Ames; Secretary—Pleasance Crawford