Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oak Hill Singing and Calhoun County Convention

Oak Hill Baptist Church, Oxford, Alabama

Sunday, November 13, 2016

The annual Sacred Harp singing and the Calhoun County Convention was held at Oak Hill Baptist Church on the second Sunday in November. Cecil Roberts brought the class to order leading 33b. Judy Chambless offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 47b; Judy Chambless 340, 294 (in honor of Glenda and Burt Collins); Jack Nelson 524, 400; Esther Williams 350, 326; Winfred Kerr 527, 36b; Dalton Dyer-Lewis 40, 354b; Donna Bell 47t (in memory of Evelyn Harris); 208 (in honor of Ruth Daniel); Victoria Cofield and Donna Bell 46; Robert Chambless 66, 163b; Hayden Arp 204 (in memory of B.M. Smith), 225t (in memory of Earlis McGraw).


David Brodeur brought the class back to order leading 88t. The following officers were elected: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—David Brodeur; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Richard Mauldin 446, 43; Virginia Dyer 549, 37b; Samuel Williams 321, 201; Andy Ditzler 72t, 213t; Vickie See and Billy See 30b, 176b; Oscar McGuire 171, 155; Daniel Williams 456, 102; David Brodeur 78, 92; Ann Simpson 79, 388; Ruth Daniel 378t, 335; Isaac Green 37t, 85.

Richard Mauldin conducted the memorial lesson, leading 61 for the following sick and shut-ins: Pearl Guier, Ann Chalker, Rene Greene, Lois Bowman, Ottis Sides, Wendy Anderson, Virginia Futral, William Futral, and Ben Price.

He spoke and led 403 for the following deceased: Hester Edwards, B.M. Smith, Earlis McGraw, S.T. Reed, Geneva Prichard, Glenda Collins’s daughter, Samford Chalker, Janelle Davis, James Hughes, Azilee Adams, Kermit Adams, Steve Adams, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, Elsie Moon, Joe Nall, Johnny Lee, Neal Prichard, and Loraine Bayer. Jack Nelson closed the memorial lesson with prayer.


Hayden Arp brought the class back to order leading 345t. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 515; Isaac Green and Dalton Dyer-Lewis 192; Daniel Williams 74t; Billy See and Vickie See 480; Ester Williams 75; David Brodeur 96; Winfred Kerr 516; Samuel Williams 230; Jack Nelson 512; Robert Chambless 143; Richard Mauldin 358; Ann Simpson 445; Victoria Cofield 401; Andy Ditzler 126; Esther Williams, Samuel Williams, and Daniel Williams 123b.

After announcements, Cecil Roberts, David Brodeur, and Judy Chambless led 62 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—David Brodeur; Secretary—Judy Chambless