Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rome Sacred Harp Singing

Midway Primitive Baptist Church, Armuchee, Georgia

Saturday, August 20, 2016

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Midway Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the third Sunday in August was called to order by Hayden Arp leading 101t. Elder Jesse Roberts offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cassie Allen 36b; Judy Chambless 37b; Helen Bryson 411; Isaac Green 85; Shane Burris 86; Rachel Carlisle 460; Henry Johnson 111t; Eva Grace Horsley and Karis Askin 178; Nate Green and Norma Green 312b; Phillip Langley 272; Kelsey Ivey 267; Phil Summerlin 284; Joyce Walton 428; Andy Ditzler 349; Karen Rollins 350 (for B.M. Smith); David Ivey 467; Reba Windom 318 (for B.M. Smith and Eloise Wootten); Lela Crowder 499 (for Don Bradford); Micah Roberts 434; Robert Chambless 84; David Brodeur 68t.


Hayden Arp led 145t to bring the class together. A business session was held and the following officers and committee members were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Hayden Arp; Secretary—Cassie Allen; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless; Karen Rollins and Darrell Swarens—Memorial Committee.

Elder Joe Hayes, pastor of the church, welcomed everyone, and requested the class sing 271 (OSH). Leaders: Nathan Rees 104; Darrell Swarens 72b; Charlene Wallace 155; Jesse Roberts 566 (in memory of Elder Langdon Huffman); Michael Thompson 330t; Kris Tweedy 70t; Winfred Kerr 59; Kathy Williams 291; Philip Denney and Susan Cherones 153; Richard Ivey 202; Janice Paulk 478; Eric Tweedy 77t; Glenda Collins, Burt Collins, and Nathan Rees 472; Don Bowen 225t (for B.M. Smith); Lisa Bennett 197; Jesse P. Karlsberg 69b; Justin Bowen 475; Judy Mincey 464. Cecil Roberts asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The class was called to order by David Brodeur leading 76b. Leaders: David Smead 227; Elizabeth Gentry 319 (for Michael Appert).

Karen Rollins and Darrell Swarens conducted the memorial lesson. Darrell talked about home. His spoke of his home in Indiana, and his home in the square. He led 345b in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: B.M. Smith, Margie Smith, Dan Summerlin, Michael Appert, Eloise Wootten, Ben Price, and Charlotte Heard.

Karen Rollins spoke of memories, and how thankful she is for memories of singing and singers. She continued by saying memories are important to each person, and to the Sacred Harp tradition. She read the following list of names of the deceased: S.T. Reed, Gary Smith, Toney Smith, and Elsie Moon—Alabama; Earlis McGraw, Geneva Prichard, and Bernice Steadman Thompson—Georgia; Janelle Davis—Illinois; Oliver Kindig-Stokes—Pennsylvania; Lewis Bennett and Betty Jo Bennett—South Carolina. Karen and Darrell led 119. Elder Jesse Roberts closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Alanna Blanks 405; Darlene Dalton and Allison Allred 503; Cecil Roberts 399b; Susan Cherones 300; David Ivey, Richard Ivey, and Kelsey Ivey 298, 384; Philip Denney, Eva Grace Horsley, and Karis Askin 120; Reba Windom and David Brodeur 269; Darrell Swarens, Phil Summerlin, and Henry Johnson 341; Joyce Walton and Michael Thompson 336; Andy Ditzler, Isaac Green, and Hayden Arp 430; Nathan Rees and Cassie Allen 517; Phillip Langley, Lela Crowder, and Justin Bowen 436; Darlene Dalton, Susan Cherones, and Elizabeth Gentry 564; David Smead, Lisa Bennett, and Judy Mincey 522; Jesse P. Karlsberg, Jesse Roberts, and Micah Roberts 389; Cecil Roberts, Winfred Kerr, and Don Bowen 77b; Charlene Wallace, Janice Paulk, and Rachel Carlisle 75; Eric Tweedy, Kris Tweedy, and Alanna Blanks 200; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Shane Burris 282; Hayden Arp 340 (for B.M. Smith).

Announcements were made. Hayden Arp led 62 as the closing song. Elder Jesse Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Hayden Arp; Secretary—Cassie Allen