Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Maine Singing

Old Town House, Union, Maine

Saturday, July 23, 2016

The 14th session of the Maine All-Day Singing took place on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in July. Robert Stoddard called the class to order leading 33b. Liz Cantrell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Pleasance Crawford 311; Elizabeth Stoddard 32t; Rachel Taylor 40; Anna Kellar 39t; Peter Golden 284; Bobbie Goodell 174; Scott Harriman 30t; Corrone Bryant 77b; Pat Callahan 568; Bruce Voyles 38b; Alexa Gilmore 29t; David Bliss 474; Celia Devine 362; John Travers 150; Liz Cantrell 348b; Hal Booth 254; Ben Bath and Syble Adams 171.


Chris Coughlin called the class back together by leading 145t. Leaders: Julie Botnick 84; Scott Luscombe 312t; Alec Targett 217; Christina Wallin 186; Jesse Vear and Jesse Flynn (treasurers) 81t; John Hughes 87; Joanne Fuller 275t; George Sigut 448t.

Robert Dove conducted the memorial lesson, and led 146 in memory of the following deceased: Loraine Bayer—Ohio; Francis Bliss, Roy Dow, and John Vear—Maine; Janelle Davis—Illinois; Horace Hall—Kentucky; Ann Henry—New York; Oliver Kindig-Stokes—Pennsylvania; Earlis McGraw—Georgia; Joe Nall—Florida; Jan Plecash—Ontario; Toney Smith, S.T. Reed, and Bernice Harvey—Alabama; Joseph Leonard Rowe—Rhode Island; and David Strother—Maryland and Maine.

He then led 70t for the following sick and shut-ins: Francois Lucas Azate, Emma Rose Burrows, Doug Conn, Dorothy Connor, Dorothy Devine, Peter Drummond, Susan Harcrow, Joanne Haskell, Kelly O’Rourke, Chloe Rombach, Mildred Stengle, Jewel Wootten, and Kendall Wyman.

Leaders: Philippa Stoddard 286; Brian Harris 196; Zoe Madonna 376; Philippe Doyle Gosselin 426t; Mary Skidmore 428; Mike Richards 283; Christine Andrews 454. Corrone Bryant offered a blessing before the midday meal.


Christina Wallin called the class back together by leading 101b. Leaders: Chris Noren 299; Mary Gowins 556; Gerald Clark 166; Gedney Barclay 379; Keillor More 189; Becky Wright 534; Charles Biada 110; Linda Thomas 131b; Jennie Brown 411; Erik-Dardan Ymeraga 292; Mary Andrews 203; Henry Schuman 532; Syble Adams 47b; Leonard Spencer 250; Lindsay Kruse 548; Barbara Swetman 542; Chris Coughlin 336; Willis McCumber 396; Lynne deBenedette 278t; Porter James 326; Aldo Ceresa and Davis Deacon 209.


Pat Callahan called the class back together by leading 105. Leaders: Debby Bliss 547; Lilly Israel 335; Laura Driscoll 45t; Jonathan Spencer 148; Anne Flight 551; Nathan Aldrich 268; Jesse Vear 475; Chris Holley 201; Annie Nixon 274t; Kerry Cullinan 63; Karen Noren 510; Eric Sandberg and Lisa Sieverts 82t; Kathe Pilibosian 422; Emily Hancock 330 (t? b?).

During a business meeting, the chairman called for reports. The Secretary reported that ninety-one singers from eleven states and two Canadian provinces had registered, and that seventy-five songs had been led. Pleasance Crawford was acclaimed chairman of the 2017 Maine All-Day Singing.

Robert Stoddard and the other officers led 62 as the closing song. Joanne Fuller offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Robert Stoddard; Secretary—Pleasance Crawford