Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, June 19, 2016

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church in Roopville, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in June. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Karen Rollins leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Philip Denney.

Leaders: Philip Denney 99; B.M. Smith and Margie Smith 225t (in memory of Earlis McGraw and S.T. Reed); Lela Crowder 385b; Robert Chambless 163b; Winfred Kerr 36b; Louis Hughes 56t (in memory of Homer Benefield); Amy Wells 440; Sharona Nelson 37b; Dylan Denney 178; Ted Brown 338; Sherry Lovvorn 454; Sonny Erwin 489; Margaret Gillanders 150; Vickie See and Billy See 480; Judy Whiting 472; Helen Brown 556 (in memory of Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Cheryl Foreman 318; Chris Brown 120; Rick Foreman 80t; Bentley McGuire 505.


Philip Denney and Gayle Denney brought the class back to order leading 340. A business meeting was held, and the financial report for the church was given by Denney Rogers. The following officers were elected: Chairman—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Hayden Arp 345t; Kathy Williams 457; Wyatt Denney 39t; Andy Ditzler 272; Jeannette DePoy 392 (in memory of her father and father-in-law); Isaac Green 24b; Anna Hinton 142.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Rollins. Karen Rollins, Denney Rogers, Paige Harrod, Sherry Lovvorn, and Karlene Williams led 119 for the following sick and shut-ins: Janelle Davis, Susan Harcrow, Norma Green, Eloise Wootten, Doris Rogers, Robert Rogers, Melanie Hauff, Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, Ed Thacker, Margaret Thacker, Karen Turner, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Cath Tyler, Ian West, Ruth Steggles, and Sister Pippa.

The following deceased were remembered: Earlis McGraw, S.T. Reed, George Garner, Oliver Kindig-Stokes, Robert DuPree, Elsie Moon, Steve Adams, Robert DePoy, Elder Neal Prichard, Rev. Gerald Rogers, Nellie Mae White, Orlando Victims, Charles Derleth, Bernice Harvey, Ellen McDougall, Ian Whiting, Michael Spittal, Eileen Wilson, Lewis Bennett, Betty Jo Bennett, and David Smith. Matt Hinton closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Ellen Ray 128; Anders Wells 159; Eli Hinton 146; Phillip Langley 172; Karis Askin 168; Barry Rollins and Andrea Rollins 143; David Brodeur 569t (in honor of Janelle Davis); Oscar McGuire 485; Lisa Bennett 177; Scott DePoy 339 (in memory of his dad).


Bentley McGuire brought the class back to order leading 76b. Leaders: John Plunkett 517; Barry Rollins, Karen Rollins, Randa Harris, and Beverly Thompson 268; David Smead 376; Marilyn Bradley 448t; Erica Hinton 328; Malinda Snow 344 (in memory of the Orlando victims); Matt Hinton 217; Helen Brown 436; Cheryl Foreman 498; Margaret Gillanders 542; Judy Whiting 208; Rick Foreman 428; Chris Brown 447; Vickie See and Billy See 503; Sonny Erwin 111b; All fathers present 413; Judy Chambless 29t.

After announcements, Karen Rollins, Philip Denney, and Denney Rogers led 46 as the closing song. Rick Foreman offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Judy Chambless