Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Year’s Day Singing

Holy Trinity Church, Mapperley, Derbyshire, United Kingdom

Friday, January 1, 2016

The class was called to order by Helen Brown leading 30t (CB). Ted Brown offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Helen Brown; Vice Chairman—Ted Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders; Arranging Committee—Judy Whiting and Chris Brown.

Leaders: Helen Brown 492; Michael Walker 411 (CB); Ted Brown 34b; Joe Vickers 35 (CB); Chris Brown 287; Sarah West 426t; Karen Turner 72b; Ian West 140 (CB); Gillian White 49t; Barry Parsons 138t (CB); Werner Ullah 37b; Steve Brett 380b (CB); Susannah Gill 82t; Richard Mayers 505 (CB); Hannah Land 98 (CB); Ed Johnson-Williams 392 (CB); Julie Russell 178; Kate Kirwan 66; Joe Jones 73b; Cath Ingham 87; Erin Johnson-Williams 75; Francis Gaskin 213t; Scott Lewin 38t (CB); Mark Wardlaw 78 (CB); Judy Whiting 441; Michael Walker 380t (CB); Chris Brown 564. Grace for the mid-day meal was offered by Joe Vickers.


Hannah Land called the class back together leading 133 (CB). Leaders: Joe Jones 137 (CB); Cath Ingham 40; Sarah West 518 (CB); Ed Johnson-Williams 196; Vicki Elliott 183; Mark Wardlaw 574 (CB); Helen Brown 430 (CB); Kate Kirwan 447; Francis Gaskin 483 (CB); Ian West 217; Calum Woods 515 (CB); Erin Johnson-Williams 527 (CB); Barry Parsons 532 (CB); Susannah Gill 200; Steve Brett 486 (CB); Joe Vickers 107 (CB).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Gillian White. The following sick and housebound were named: Zam Walker, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Delorese Lee, Lin James, Gordon Hoyland, Tom Robinson, John Hollingsworth, Dot Green, Sister Pippa, and Rosalind Oldham.

The following deceased were remembered and honored: Lucy Daubney, Mike Smith, Mary Newell, Kate Davis, Oliver Kindig-Stokes, Ian Whiting, Michael Spittal, Eileen Wilson, Gary Coates, Wendy Ross, Andy Lee, Ernest Brook, and Rina Rogers. Michael Walker led 306 for all the above named. Gillian White closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Judy Whiting 68b; Ted Brown 119.


Richard Mayers led 587 (CB) to bring the class together. Leaders: Werner Ullah 531; Vicki Elliott 48t; Scott Lewin 572 (CB); Karen Turner 426b; Michael Walker 522 (CB); Julie Russell 347; Calum Woods 495 (CB); Joe Vickers 52b; Kate Kirwan 396; Joe Jones 141; Steve Brett 373 (CB); Susannah Gill 451 (CB); Barry Parsons 347 (CB); Erin Johnson-Williams 284; Francis Gaskin 64; Sarah West 108t; Ed Johnson-Williams 111b; Mark Wardlaw 462; Vicki Elliott 176b; Ted Brown 74b; Richard Mayers 77t.

Helen Brown led 31t as the closing song. Simon White dismissed the class with prayer and blessing.

Chairman—Helen Brown; Vice Chairman—Ted Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders