Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rock Creek Mountain Home - Ryan Creek Convention

Masonic Hall, Crane Hill, Cullman County, Alabama

August 16, 1997

The one hundred-first session of the Rock Creek Mountain Home and the one hundred twenty-fourth session of the Ryan Creek Convention was convened at the Masonic Hall, Crane Hill, Cullman County, Alabama. Billy Williams welcomed the conventions and opened the joint session by leading song on page 39b. The morning prayer was led by Ulys Walker.

A business session was held with the following officers elected: Chairman—Billy Williams; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson; Chaplain—Aubrey Tyree; Arranging Committee—Billy Williams.

The following leaders were called: Everett Kilgo 40, 100; Reede Powell 300, 200; John Hyde 73t, 297.

At this time Chaplain Aubrey Tyree read from the New Testament and spoke of God’s love and living it through fellowship and singing.

Singing was resumed with the following leaders called: Eron White 146, 129; Aubrey Tyree 298, 329; Ester Brown 30t, 36b; David Roberson 275b, 388; Josie Hyde 147t, 288.


Billy Williams called the convention back to order leading song on page 73b. Leaders: Marie Guthrie 101 (t? b?), 430; Margaret Keeton 217, 155; Travis Keeton 384 (in memory of Unie B. Howard), 343b; Ruth Walker 290, 48t; Elvin Guthrie 225 (t? b?), 432; Corene White 314; Lester Mattox 421, 168, 186. Raymond Persall closed the morning session with prayer.


The afternoon session was called to order by Chairman Billy Williams leading song on page 470.

The memorial lesson was opened with Secretary Eldagene Roberson reading the list of deceased singers and lovers of the Sacred Harp who have passed away since our last convention: Elder C. H. Moon, Agnes Hocutt, Elder Bernard Moon, Verla Johnson, Pearlee Calvert, Uncle Tom Harper, Lola Myrtle Roberson, Floyd Stiefel, Rachel Grimmett Hancock, Alvin Parker, Unie B. Howard, Willie Blackwood, Carie Graves, Andy Edwards, Barrett Ashley, and Lillie Nall. Everett Kilgo led song on page 235 for the deceased. Marie Guthrie led “Jesus Died For Me” for the sick and shut-ins. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer led by Raymond Persall.

Leaders: George Cleghorn 445b, 119; Eldagene Roberson 385b.

At this time the class was asked for any calls for the convention next year. The decision was made to hold the convention back at the Masonic Hall at Crane Hill.

The convention was dismissed at one o’clock to allow the singers to attend the funeral of a long time singer and a former member of this convention, Alvin Parker. Billy Williams led 62 as the closing song, and Aubrey Tyree gave the closing prayer.

Chairman—Billy Williams; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson.