Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Calhoun County Musical Association

Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, Bruce, Mississippi

Saturday, August 8, 2015

The 138th annual session of the Calhoun County Sacred Harp Musical Association convened at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, Bruce, Mississippi. President Henry McGuire called the class to order leading 100 (WB). John Van Horn offered the morning prayer.

The Executive Committee was retained from last year, and included the following members: Mark Davis (Chairman), Drew McGuire, Warren Steel, and Henry McGuire.

Leaders: Henry McGuire 505 (WB); Anne Steel 34b (in memory of George Easley), 171; Mark Davis 56b, 217; Amber Davis 389, 391; Robert Earl Alexander 35, 124; Shelby Castillo 383, 172; Jeff Corbett 66, 99; Will McGuire 317b (WB), 486t (WB); Lisa Geist 377, 269; Matt Bell 284t (WB), 138t (WB); Andy Davis 254, 434; John Van Horn 77t, 168.


Leaders: Chris Ballinger 56t, 270; Arlon Gardner 111b, 278t; Judy Caudle 432, 403; Wendell Rinehart 457, 31t; Darrell Swarens 40, 208; Nathan Stewart 445, 530; Dan Brittain 399b, 375; Wilma Mitchell 147t, 480; Warren Steel 45b (WB), 137 (WB); Drew McGuire 348b, 472, 236.


After a plentiful and delicious lunch, President Henry McGuire restored order and led 492 (WB). Leaders: Anne Steel 209; Mark Davis 436; Amber Davis 380; Shelby Castillo 183; Jeff Corbett 53; Will McGuire 511 (WB); Andy Davis 196; John Van Horn 273; Arlon Gardner 67; Matt Bell 150 (WB); Judy Caudle 480t (WB); Darrell Swarens 480b (WB); Nathan Stewart 215; Dan Brittain 448b; Warren Steel 36t; Drew McGuire 512.

In a business session, Drew McGuire was elected as President. The newly elected President appointed John Van Horn, Henry McGuire, and Nathan Stewart as delegates to the Mississippi State Convention.


Drew McGuire restored order, and led 76b. Leaders: Darrell Swarens 507; Dan Brittain 481, 465; Judy Caudle 422; Amber Davis 150; Matt Bell 318 (WB).

The Executive Committee reported that the Association agreed to meet again at Bethel in 2016, with a start time of 9:30 a.m. The secretary position will be vacant until a new appointee is selected. Seventy-four dollars in monies were collected for the day, to be dispersed as directed by the Executive Committee. Following announcements, the day of singing was closed by Drew McGuire leading 146 as the closing song. Arlon Gardner dismissed the class with prayer.

President—Drew McGuire; Secretary—Anne Steel