Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shaker Meetinghouse and Francis Bliss
Birthday Singing

Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village Meetinghouse,
New Gloucester, Maine

Saturday, June 6, 2014

The 8th annual Shaker Meetinghouse and Francis Bliss Birthday Singing was held in the Meetinghouse at Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village in New Gloucester, Maine. Barb Ames welcomed everyone and brought the class to order leading 49t. Mary Ann Haagen offered the opening prayer. Barb Ames and Meg Haskell led the class in singing the Shaker songs “Oh the Blessed Gospel” and “Pretty Mother”.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairperson—Barb Ames; Treasurer—Corrone Bryant; Arranging Committee/Secretaries—Edith Berger and Pleasance Crawford.

Leaders: Pat Callahan 82t; Al McCready 34b; Christina Wallin 47t; Richard Schmeidler 474; Philippa Stoddard 176t; Alexa Gilmore 37b; Chris Holley 105; Paula Picton 268; Molly Brewer 47b; Michael Walker 528; Mary Ann Haagen 191; Elizabeth Stoddard 367; George Pomfret 168; Ally Talbot 95; Ian Quinn 310; Bobbie Goodell 86; Celia Devine 70b; Peter Golden 73b; Liz Cantrell 300; Kathe Pilibosian 532; Charles Biada 138t; Debby Bliss 146; Barb Ames and Chris Holley 34b (with special birthday verse in honor of Francis Bliss’s 96th); Francis Bliss 178; Gwen Gethner 480; Anna Kellar 148.


Molly Brewer called the class to order by leading 111b. Leaders: Sumner Roberts 98; Vicki Adams 48t; Robert Stoddard 139; Traci Naylor 430; Kris Paprocki 52b; Emily Hancock 76b; Pleasance Crawford 327 (for Dorothy Connor recovering from surgery); Corrone Bryant 49b; Pat Callahan 402; Gary Plouff 318; Al McCready 472; Christina Wallin 39t; Deborah Marsh 159; Richard Schmeidler 254; Paula Picton 351; Michael Walker 306; Mary Ann Haagen 547; George Pomfret 535; Ian Quinn 543; Liz Cantrell 500; Charles Biada 298; Gwen Gethner 101b; Traci Naylor 106; Ally Talbot 503; Deborah Marsh 155; Kris Paprocki 284; Emily Hancock 99; Gary Plouff 274t; Molly Brewer 277; Bobbie Goodell 174; Corrone Bryant 77b; Alexa Gilmore 72b; Chris Holley 77t; Elizabeth Stoddard 522; Peter Golden 323t; Anna Kellar 457; Sumner Roberts 172; Vicki Adams 344; Philippa Stoddard 399b. Barb Ames led the Shaker song “We Will All Go Home with You.” Announcements were made. Corrone Bryant reported that expenses had been met. Pleasance Crawford reported that singers had come from all the New England States plus New York, Oregon, and South Carolina, and from Canada and also the United Kingdom. Edith Berger reported that 35 leaders had led 67 Sacred Harp songs and three Shaker songs and over 85 attended the singing. Barb Ames thanked all for being present; the Sabbathday Lake Shaker community for their hospitality; the many who helped; and all who provided food for the evening meal.

Barb Ames led 62 as the closing song. Daniel Purdy offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed to the Dining Room in the Dwelling House. There, Sister Frances Carr led the grace before the evening meal.


Following supper, those who were able to stay reconvened for an evening session of singing from The Christian Harmony in the rotunda of the 1893 State of Maine Building at the Poland Springs Resort.

Leaders: Michael Walker 44 (CH); Ian Quinn 155 (CH); Robert Stoddard 144b (CH); George Pomfret 171 (CH); Richard Schmeidler 143 (CH); Charles Biada 189 (CH); Elizabeth Stoddard 372 (CH); Michael Walker 208b (CH) (requested by Joan Frankel); Pat Callahan 133 (CH); Peter Golden 421b (CH); Philippa Stoddard 64 (CH); Sumner Roberts 82b (CH); Christina Wallin 138 (CH); Gwen Gethner 172 (CH); Michael Walker 219 (CH); Paula Picton 61t (CH); Michael Walker 199 (CH) (for Deborah Marsh and girls); Liz Cantrell 492b (CH); Ian Quinn 214 (CH); George Pomfret 91 (CH); Charles Biada 365 (CH); Richard Schmeidler 109 (CH); Pat Callahan 162 (CH); Michael Walker 231 (CH) (requested by Joan Frankel); Elizabeth Stoddard 282 (CH); Robert Stoddard 245 (CH); Peter Golden 261t (CH); Philippa Stoddard 255 (CH); Sumner Roberts 163b (CH); Gwen Gethner 203 (CH); Al McCready 85 (CH); Michael Walker 23b (CH). The class was dismissed about 8. 00 p.m.

Chairperson—Barb Ames; Secretaries—Pleasance Crawford and Edith Berger