Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lamar and Pickens County Convention

Zion Church, eight miles north of Gordo, Alabama

July 13, 1997

The eightieth session of the annual Lamar and Pickens County Convention was held at Zion Church on the second Sunday in July, and was called to order by Chairman Clarence McCool leading song on page 36b. The morning prayer was led by Earline Ellis. Toney Smith led song on page 45t.

The class organized, and elected to retain the same officers: Chairman—Clarence McCool; Vice Chairman—Toney Smith; Arranging Committee—Wayne Baines; Secretary—Earline Ellis.

The singing will be held on the second Sunday in July again in 1998.

Leaders: Clarence McCool 159; John Hyde 61, 63; Travis Keeton 290, 343; Beatrice Brewer 123t, 137; Etma Barton 300, 298; Lavert Howell 68b, 74t; Gravis Ballinger 124, 78; Gene Wakefield 108b, 109; Toney Smith and David Ellis 475; Annie Lou Price 99, 155.


The class resumed singing with Toney Smith leading song on page 569 (t? b?). Leaders: Josie Hyde 66, 225t; Dorothy Elmore 323 (t? b?), 290; Johnny Humber 288, 212; Larry Ballinger 121, 112; Arnold Moore 480, 490; Elmer Conwill 396, 411.


The class was called to order by Clarence McCool. Leaders: Alonzo Malone 203, 183; Lena Wakefield 146, 192.

A memorial service was held by Earline Ellis leading songs on pages 317, 101 (t? b?), and 349 for the following deceased: Mr. Larenzo Abrams and Lillie Bunn. The memorial service was closed.

Leaders: Lavaughn Ballinger 136, 284; Earl Ballinger 331; Wayne Baines 535, 59; Annie Lou Price 77t; Lavert Howell 68b; Toney Smith 77b; Gene Wakefield 64; John Hyde 313 (t? b?); Travis Keeton 31t; Elmer Conwill 44; Etma Barton 373; Beatrice Brewer 75; Josie Hyde 234; Earl Ballinger 217; Lavaughn Ballinger 405; Earline Ellis 30t; Alonzo Malone 448t; Clarence McCool 111t.

The class was dismissed with prayer by Johnny Humber. Thanks to all of you for being with us. Come again next year on the second Sunday in July.

Chairman—Clarence McCool; Vice Chairman—Toney Smith; Secretary—Earline Ellis.