Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Furman University Singing

Nan Herring Pavilion, Furman University, Greenville, South Carolina

Saturday, May 9, 2015

The 18th annual Furman University Singing was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in May. Song selections during the first morning session were from The Christian Harmony, 2010 edition. Frances Carnell called the class to order by leading 58b (CH). Leon Carnell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Frances Carnell 142 (CH); Dave Farmer 51 (CH); Chris Wilhelm 236t (CH); Mary Baumeister 25t (CH); Leslie Booher 546b (CH); Claudia Dean 144t (CH); Robert Kelley 511 (CH); John Hollingsworth 136 (CH); Billy Hollingsworth 26t (CH); Leon Carnell 165 (CH); John Plunkett 546t (CH); David Libbey 172 (CH); Frances Carnell 9 (CH); Dave Farmer 267 (CH); Chris Wilhelm 145t (CH).

During a business meeting the following officers were elected for 2016: Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dave Farmer; Secretaries—Mary Baumeister and Chris Wilhelm.


The second morning session was from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Leaders: Frances Carnell 370; Mary Baumeister 531; Leslie Booher 367; Claudia Dean 462; Robert Kelley 53; John Hollingsworth 50b; Billy Hollingsworth 569t; Leon Carnell 535; John Plunkett 161; David Libbey 523; Frances Carnell 282; Dave Farmer 454; Chris Wilhelm 375; Mary Baumeister 203 (for Michael and Lucy Heyerman); Leslie Booher 163b; Claudia Dean 284; Robert Kelley 165; John Hollingsworth 418; Billy Hollingsworth 137. John Plunkett offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon sessions were leader’s choice. Leaders: Dave Farmer 128 (SH); Chris Wilhelm 446 (SH); Leon Carnell 268 (SH); John Plunkett 462t (CH); David Libbey 67b (CH); Mike Spencer 493b (CH); Frances Carnell 318 (SH); Dave Farmer 209 (SH); Nick Gattis 208 (SH); Mary Baumeister 501 (SH); Leslie Booher 448t (SH); Claudia Dean 33b (SH); Robert Kelley 507t (CH); John Hollingsworth 82t (CH); Billy Hollingsworth 459t (CH).


Leaders: Frances Carnell 82t (SH); Philip Reed 282 (SH); Frances Carnell 192 (SH) (by request); Dave Farmer 532 (SH); Chris Wilhelm 362 (CH); Mary Baumeister 388 (CH); Leslie Booher 138 (CH); Claudia Dean 540 (SH); Robert Kelley 83b (SH); Billy Hollingsworth 144b (CH); John Plunkett 282 (CH); David Libbey 503 (SH); Mike Spencer 354t (SH); Nick Gattis 155 (SH); Philip Reed 354b (SH); Henry Branson 370 (SH).

Announcements were made. Frances Carnell led 347 (SH) as the closing song. John Plunkett offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dave Farmer; Secretary—Mary Baumeister