Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church

Ider, DeKalb County, Alabama

Sunday, April 13, 2014

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Antioch Baptist Church, Ider, Alabama, was held on the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Jamey Wootten and Aaron Wootten leading 82t. The morning prayer was offered by Chris Boggs.

The following officers were previously elected or appointed to serve: Chairmen—Jamey Wootten and Aaron Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Jamey Wootten and Aaron Wootten 45t and 31t; Henry Johnson 230; Heath Townson 186; Louis Hughes 135; Larry Wootten, Chris Holley, and Kathe Pilibosian 490; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 274t; Tom Owen 341; Judy Chambless 209; Shawn Carroll 28b; Daniel Lee 203; Marlon Wootten and Shane Wootten 97; Sierra Saylors and Spencer 300; Robert Chambless 73b; Linda Thomas 73t; Phillip Wootten, Susan Pilcher, and Stacy Pilcher 196, 106; Phil Summerlin 32t; Ian Quinn 39b; Paula Picton 37b; Sonny Erwin and David Ivey 475; Judy Caudle 134.


Jamey Wootten and Aaron Wootten led 101t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Susan Cherones 481; Keith Willard 29t; Rick Foreman 84; David Saylors, Theresa Saylors, and friends 349; Eddie Mash 88b; Brenda Carroll and Chris Carroll 299; Claudene Townson and family 68b, 448t; Jake Wilson 270; Mike Hinton 480.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Shane Wootten and David Ivey. David spoke on behalf of the following sick and shut-ins: Delorese Lee, Betty Wright, Olivia Allen, Jewel Wootten, S.T. Reed, Melanie Giles, Evelyn Harris, Sammie Oliver, Mary Jo Whisenant, Cleva Dell Blevins, and Daphene Causey. He led 376 in their honor.

Shane Wootten spoke in memory of the following deceased: Jonathon Adams, Bud Oliver, Lessie Reed, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Evelyn Steinruck, Lou Cotney, Carroll Lunsford, John Saylors, Gladys Franks, Willard Wright, Mike Nunn, and Genny Whitworth. He led 421 in their memory. Phillip Wootten offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Scott Ivey and Tom Owen 201; Chris Holley and Kathe Pilibosian 277; John Kelso 457; Mark Carroll 47b; Laura Densmore 50t; Judy Mincey 538; Stephen Miller 146; Cheryl Foreman 187; Robin Smith and family 176t, 571 (CB); Bridgett Kennedy 31t.


The afternoon session began with Jamey Wootten and Aaron Wootten leading 138t. Leaders: Ed Thacker 532; Linton Ballinger 224; Jenny Willard 99; Jerry Creason 39t; Macy Bell 312b; Mel Kersey 354t; Jeffrey Wootten and Kennedy Wootten 460; Syble Adams and Ronda Arnold 505 (CB); Cheyenne Ivey 168; Kendra Strickland 388; Donna Wootten and Eloise Wootten 30b; Angela Myers 53; Rodney Ivey and Hobert Ivey 47t; Reba Windom 542; Sarah Vaughn 472; Terry Wootten 133 (CB); Susan Harcrow 500; Marty Wootten 546; Jeremy Wootten and Jerry Wootten 335; Jenny Mann and Chris Boggs 511b (CB); Levon Wootten and Dewayne Wootten 46; Levon Wootten, Dewayne Wootten, and Terry Wootten 441, “Pass Me Not”; Hobert Ivey, Jamey Wootten, Hayden Wootten, Jared Wootten, Scott Ivey, and Aaron Wootten 445; Jenny Mann “Sweet Beulah Land”.

Jamey Wootten and Aaron Wootten led 414 as the closing song. Jeffrey Wootten offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairmen—Jamey Wootten and Aaron Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle