Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

H. R. Avery Memorial Singing

Daviston, Alabama

Sunday, February 9, 2014

The annual H.R. Avery Memorial Singing was held the second Sunday in February. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church by Jack Nelson leading 32t and 438. Prayer was requested for Larry McCormick, Myrline Redmon, and the Avery family. Jack Nelson offered the opening prayer. Jack Nelson led 460 (for the Avery family) and 285t (for the sick and shut-ins).

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jack Nelson; Vice Chairman—Charlotte Bishop; Arranging Officer—Jordan Whitehead; Secretaries—Sharon Whitehead and Carla Smith.

Leaders: Robert Chambless 176b, 225t; Fred Hoerr 326, 33b; Myrline Redmon 340, 358; Ledora Morris 101t, 373; Judy Chambless 37b, 73t; Cecil Roberts 48t, 49b; Edna Ruth Phillips 59 (for Warren Wallace), 58; Karen Rollins 35, 317; Jack Nelson 95; Charlene Wallace 61, 63; Sharon Whitehead 480, 143; Ed Thacker 176t, 112; Buell Cobb 144, 119; Charlotte Bishop 335 (CB), 229 (CB). Preaching services were conducted by Elder Ben Keeble.


A memorial lesson was conducted by Jack Nelson, who led 472 for the following deceased and sick and shut-ins: Rebecca Clark, Leonard Price, Annie Lee Price, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Mary Cu Shivers, Lois Bowman, Floy Wilder, Audress Gurley, Arlene Griffin, Lessie Reed, Elder Jimmy Bass, and Betty Bass.

Leaders: Tirzah Johnson 400; Karen Clark 77b, 540; Margaret Thacker 39b, 303 (in memory of Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Ted Price 441 (in memory of Annie Lee Price), 290 (in memory of Leonard Price); Linda Fagan 128, 45t; Tom Ingram 491, 127; Tirzah Johnson and Ted Price 196; Myrline Redmon 569b; Jordan Whitehead 354b, 148.

Jack Nelson led 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jack Nelson; Vice Chairman—Charlotte Bishop; Secretaries—Sharon Whitehead and Carla Smith