Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rivanna River All-Day Singing

Charlottesville Friends Meetinghouse, Charlottesville, Virginia

Saturday, September 7, 2013

The 11th annual Rivanna River Singing was called to order at the Charlottesville Friends Meetinghouse at 10:04 a.m. by Zachary Bullock leading 34b. Kelly Macklin offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bev Yeager; Vice Chairman—Bob Flannery; Secretary—Barbarie Hill; Treasurer—Judy Cahill; Arranging Committee—Zach Bullock, Diane Ober, and John Alexander.

The first two sessions were song selections from the Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. The last two sessions were a mix of selections from The Sacred Harp and the Shenandoah Harmony (ShH).

Leaders: Bev Yeager 77b; Judy Cahill 87; Pat Temple 59; Les Updike 86; Miranda Rader 31t; John Alexander 179; Zach Bullock 101t; Mary Wright 35; Bridget Camden 110; John Feddersen 182; Susan Green 415; Brenda Dunlap 503; Kelly Macklin 75; Richard Green 350; Gillie Campbell 410t; Matt Roberts 39t; Erin Gum 332; Harry “Scotty” Scott 46; Liz Meitzler 81t; Mary Helen Dupree 441; Rick Motylinski 99; Leyland delRe 134; Lamar Matthew 157.


The class was called back to order by Jim Strube leading 354t. Leaders: John delRe 101b; Kathy Manning 349; Pat Temple 33t; Miranda Rader 269; Liz Meitzler 312b; Richard Green 163t; Bridget Camden 440; Susan Green 272; Lamar Matthew 522; Kelly Macklin 206; John Feddersen 163b; Gillie Campbell 45t; Mary Helen Dupree 26; Lucas Husted 276; Leyland delRe 187; Rick Motylinsky 40; Harry Scott 313b; Brenda Dunlap 347.

The memorial lesson was conducted by John Alexander leading 566 and 549. The deceased remembered were Jeff Sheppard and Bud Oliver—Alabama; Evelyn Steinruck—Pennsylvania; Shaun Steyaert—Virginia.

The class continued singing with Matt Roberts leading 146. Leaders: Bridget Camden 148; Mary Wright 112; Les Updike 515; Lamar Matthew 344; Liz Meitzler 215; Lucas Husted 472; Miranda Rader 348t. A prayer was offered by Kelly Macklin.


The class was called back together by John Alexander and Diane Ober leading 438t (ShH). Leaders: John delRe 8 (ShH); Kathy Manning 254 (ShH); Ben Griffin 178; Kelly Macklin (ShH); Jim Strube 431 (ShH); Chris Lasagna and Erin Gum 287 (ShH); Susan Green 307 (ShH); Rick Motylinsky 183 (ShH); Leyland delRe 191 (ShH); Harry Scott 352 (ShH); Richard Green 413 (ShH); Bridget Camden 316b (ShH); John Feddersen 86 (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 310 (ShH); Lucas Husted 68b; Gillie Campbell 296 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 264b (ShH); Matt Roberts 422 (ShH); Pat Temple 146 (ShH); John Alexander 326b (ShH).


The class was called back to order by Diane Ober leading 241t (ShH). Leaders: Zach Bullock 260b (ShH); Kathy Manning 180 (ShH); Lamar Matthew 111 (ShH); Liz Meitzler 338 (ShH); Mary Wright 226 (ShH); Miranda Rader 156 (ShH); Jim Strube 214 (ShH); John delRe 93 (ShH); Renel Kennell 79 (ShH); John Feddersen 254; Emily Owens 162; Kate Conn 282; Kathy Manning 303; Lucas Husted 236.

Pat Temple read a resolutions statement, thanking everyone who helped make the singing a success.

Bev Yeager led 157 (ShH) as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Kelly Macklin, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bev Yeager; Vice Chairman—Bob Flannery; Secretary—Barbarie Hill