Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chestnut Grove Baptist Church

Ider, Alabama

Sunday, October 14, 2012

The 86th session of the annual Chestnut Grove Sacred Harp singing was held on the second Sunday in October. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer. Loretta Smith and Amy Smith led 68b.

Leaders: Billy Thompson 47b, 465 (CB); Henry Johnson 289, 69t; Danny Creel 145t, 283; Susan Cherones 107, 278t; Cindy Tanner 146, 546; Aaron Wootten 63, 270; Cheyenne Ivey 76b, 128; Paula Oliver 32t, 142; Jackie Tanner 101t, 123t; Jamey Wootten 42, 418; Emily Burleson 430, 442; Nathan Rees 76t, 186.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Loretta Smith; Secretary—Amy Smith.


Loretta Smith and Amy Smith led 45t to bring the class to order.

Leaders: Jared Wootten 276; Ann Jett 108b; Shane Wootten 36b, 457, 425; Donna Wootten 81t, 56t; Marty Wootten 73t, 46.

Loretta Smith and Amy Smith led 37b in memory of the following deceased: Bill Tanner, Earnie Jett, Harrison Creel, Cecil Sanders, Winell Sanders, Debbie Mitchell, Lorene Gothard, and Melvin Stiefel.

The following sick and shut-ins were remembered: Winnie Blevins, Donald Carroll, Betty Wright, Willard Wright, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, and Lessie Reed.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey and Amy Daniel 47t, 426t; Mary Ruth Stiefel 322; Brenda Carroll 299, 300.


The afternoon session was called to order by Loretta Smith leading 82t. Leaders: Henry Johnson 271b; Loyd Ivey 235; Norma Green 569b, 568; Brian Maxwell family 340; Michael Thompson 275t; Danny Creel 269; Ann Jett 327; Ricky Harcrow 74b, 75; Ezra 571 (CB); Aldo Ceresa 532, 182; Joyce Whittington 480; Emily Burleson 411; Rodney Ivey, Myra Dalton, and Claudine Townson 39t; Rodney Ivey and Joshua Sandlin 268; Paula Oliver 217; Nathan Rees 434.

Loretta Smith and Amy Smith led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Henry Johnson, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Loretta Smith; Secretary—Amy Smith