Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cornelius Benjamin Keeton and
Travis Keeton Memorial

Shady Grove (Keeton Cemetery), Walker County, Alabama

Sunday, September 16, 2012

The 21st annual Cornelius Benjamin Keeton and Travis Keeton Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held on the third Sunday in September. Glenn Keeton called the class to order by welcoming everyone and leading 145b. The morning prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

The class organized by retaining the same officers as follows: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Don Keeton; Secretary—Margaret Keeton; Arranging Officer—Lena Keeton.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 99; Don Keeton 477, 480; Joshua Keeton 268, 30t; Larry Ballinger 177, 260; Ann Jett 146, 167; Ottis Sides 145t, 322; Mike Hankins 72b, 410t; Seth Holloway 236, 388; Faye Donaldson 168, 124.


The class was brought back together by Glenn Keeton, Matthew Keeton, and Isabella Keeton leading 235. Leaders: Henry Guthery 348b, 549; Roma Rice 64, 460 (in memory of Ada Godsey); Chris Ballinger 76b, 215; Sarah Beasley 384, 283; Richard Mauldin 43 (for Josie Hyde), 446; Margaret Keeton 57, 78; Tim Cook 24b, 152.


The class resumed singing with Don Keeton leading 270. Leaders: Betty Baccus 378t, 454; Gravis Ballinger 182, 120; Linda Sides 445 (in memory of Jackie Grace), 277; Danny Creel 383, 456; Amber Davis 187, 192; Glenn Keeton 378b (in memory of Avis McGough, Travis Keeton, Benjamin Keeton, and Anna Pruett). Danny Creel offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Glenn Keeton, Skip Keeton, Lena Keeton, Gwen Cornelius, Arnie Keeton, Wade Keeton, Nell Sorsby, Jeanett Colburn, and Mike Slowman leading 46, 179 (in memory of Travis Keeton), 47b, and 143. Leaders: Lisa Geist 150, 391; Gwen Cornelius and Steve Adams 339, 101t; Emily Burleson 511, 428; Steve Adams and Gwen Cornelius 490; Lena Keeton and Ann Jett 546; Lena Keeton and Emily Burleson 472; Emily Burleson 380 (by request); Glenn Keeton, Skip Keeton, Aiden McGough, Doyal Keeton, Holly Keeton, Sharon Keeton, Betty Busby, and Tonya Wright 290, 496 (in memory of Travis Keeton).

Following announcements, Glenn Keeton and Don Keeton led 267 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Don Keeton; Secretary—Margaret Keeton