Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Swannanoa Gathering Shape Note Singing

Warren Wilson College, Asheville, North Carolina

Saturday, July 28, 2012

The Swannanoa Gathering Shape Note Singing was held at Warren Wilson College, Morris Pavilion, Swannanoa, North Carolina, on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in July, in conjunction with Old Time Week. The singers were greeted by Jane Spencer, who briefly introduced 7-shape singing, and led 61t (CH). Leslie Booher offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Kevin Kehrberg 293 (CH); Chris Wilhelm 93 (CH); Rachel Rudi and Emma Rose Brown 455b (CH); John Plunkett 127b (CH); Tina Becker 88 (CH); Gary Poe 509b (CH); Ron Pen 117 (CH); Mary Baumeister 65b (CH) (for Sharon Kellam); Tarik Wareh, Faiz Wareh, and Cora Wareh 339 (CH) (for Joann); Robert Kelley 466 (CH); Don Wiley 217 (CH); Faiz Wareh 210t (CH); Dot Lane 215 (CH); Leslie Booher 419t (CH); Molly Merrell 85 (CH); Ann Strange 58b (CH); Jonathan Wood 77 (CH).


Jane Spencer reconvened the singing by leading 465t (CH). Leaders: Sarah Kehrberg 89 (CH); Marty Hubert and Devin Hunter 255 (CH); Dave Farmer 541b (CH); Harry Eskew 51 (SoH); Michael Spencer 334 (CH); Joe Holbert 282 (CH); Jane Spencer 171; Kevin Kehrberg 117; Tarik Wareh and Cora Wareh 331; Chris Wilhelm 539; John Plunkett 547; Faiz Wareh 89; Tina Becker 515; Ron Pen 455; Mary Baumeister 313b. John Plunkett asked the blessing before the noon meal.


The class was brought back to order, and the current officers were re-elected by acclamation. Leaders: Ron Pen 73b; Tarik Wareh 230; Robert Kelley 422; Tom Dillon 569b; Madeline Wadley 340; Leslie Booher 448t; Molly Merrell 39t; Jonathan Wood 445; Dave Farmer 339; Maggie Shar 276; Chris Berg 267; Harry Eskew 146; Michael Spencer 393; Joe Holbert 178; Jane Spencer and Annie Haught 384.


Ron Pen introduced the Southern Harmony, and led 103 (SoH). Leaders: Jane Spencer 115 (SoH); Chris Wilhelm 121 (SoH); John Plunkett 72t (SoH); Mary Baumeister 15 (SoH); Tarik Wareh, Faiz Wareh, and Cora Wareh 145 (SoH); Robert Kelley 147 (SoH); Jonathan Wood 275 (SoH); Tina Becker 46 (SoH); Michael Spencer 41 (SoH); Molly Merrell 150 (SoH).

Jane Spencer, Ron Pen, and Chris Wilhelm led 62 (SoH) as the final song. Michael Spencer offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jane Spencer; Vice Chairman—Ron Pen; Secretary—Chris Wilhelm