Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Quebec Singing Convention

Lennoxville, Quebec and Ways Mills, Quebec

July 13-14, 2012

Friday, July 13

The Friday evening session was called to order in Lennoxville, Quebec, by Chuck Neville leading 68b. He then offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Dara Weis 32t; Glen Patterson 290; Jackie Hall 217; Pippa Hall 203; Isabelle Gervais-Chapman 105; Patrick DeDauw 285t; Cheryl Stroud 198; Ines Lüttgen 100; Diana Daly 277; Scott Luscombe 302; Phil Dutton 410t; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 368; Susan Jaster 326; John Henderson 146; Robert Stoddard 362; Elizabeth Stoddard 191; Bob Parr 270; Howard Katz 59.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Chuck Neville; Secretary—Ruth Doerfler.


Chuck Neville led 49b to bring the class together. Leaders: Robert Stoddard 332; Dara Weiss 82t; Jackie Hall 528; Bobbie Goodell 503; Glenn Patterson 61; Pippa Hall 335; Isabelle Gervais-Chapman 47t; Ines Lüttgen 111t; Chuck Neville 569b; Patrick DeDauw 162; Cheryl Stroud 455; Diana Daly 86; Scott Luscombe 442; Annie Louchester 47b; Phil Dutton 344; Masti Denise Mayrand 46; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 377; John Henderson 178; Bobbie Goodell 174; Susan Jaster 485; Elizabeth Stoddard 399b; Bob Parr 480; Howard Katz 481.

Chuck Neville led 347, and offered the closing prayer.

Saturday, July 14

The all-day session of the Quebec Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order in Ways Mills, Quebec, by Chuck Neville leading 49b. He offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Wendy Gilchrist 47t; Paul Gauthier 31t; Bruce Kokernot 155; Bobbie Goodell 184; Cheryl Stroud 183; Inez Luttgen 164; Glen Patterson 378t; Sue Duelle 497; Isabelle Gervais-Chapman 335; Scott Luscombe 137; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 189; Leonard Spencer 95; Christopher Wesolowski 143; Patrick DeDauw 146; Dara Weis 39t; Phil Dutton 268; Howard Katz 99; Susan Jaster 157.


Chuck Neville led 569b. Leaders: Bob Parr 112; Elizabeth Stoddard 124; Robert Stoddard 213t; Diana Daly 457; Pat Callahan 502; Wendy Gilchrist 107; Paul Gauthier 182; Bobbie Goodell 474; Bruce Kokernot 34b; Cheryl Stroud 53.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Don Peabody, at which time he spoke of our connection to one another and, as such, we are all pieces of a whole. He spoke of an experience he had where he was on a sort of mission at a prison in which there were several factions which were in deadly opposition to one another. He was trying to break down these factions and incite these prisoners to regard others not as enemies but rather as friends. He said that after speaking to the prisoners he felt in himself a certain power of those fellow Quakers he often joined at regular meetings. In consequence of his words to these men, it seemed that the divisions were able to be broken down and a certain harmony descended on the group. He read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Walter Robbins, Paddy Millet, Peter Golden, Bud Oliver, Daphene Causey, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Sanley Rozinski, Lysianne Pfaff, Kevin Paul, Mathieu B. Girard, and Stella Acelas. He led 68b.

Don then read the names of the deceased as follows: Richard Wright (no state listed); Tom Lodge and Carol (Kali) Grosberg—California; Lonnie Rogers—Georgia; John Merritt—Mississippi; Julietta Haynes—Tennessee; Leland Owen—Texas; James Wyllie—Pennsylvania; Poppy Gregory, Martina Colombotos, and Grace Sasso—Massachusetts; John Connell, Andy Johnson, Chuck Meese, and Polly Howlett—Vermont; Cécile Cyr—Québec. In memory of those who had passed away, he led159.

Leaders: Chuck Neville 163b; Sue Duelle 178; Isabelle Gervais-Chapman 175; Scott Luscombe 430; Robert Stoddard 315; Cheryl Stroud 180. A prayer was offered before the noon meal by Chuck Neville.


Bob Parr led 72b to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Bruce Kokernot 455; Dara Weiss 472; Ines Lüttgen 506; Annie Louchester 448t; Cheryl Stroud 312b; Masti Denise Mayrand 82t; Scott Luscombe 313b; Susan Jaster 489; Jackie Hall “Ten Thousand Charms”; Elka Schuman 84; Sharon Schenkel 452; Bob Parr 313t; Elizabeth Stoddard 436; Robert Stoddard 392; Phil Dutton 574; Diana Daly 275t; Pat Callahan 227; Patrick DeDauw 89; Wendy Gilchrist 569t; Paul Gauthier 442; Leonard Spencer 260; Bobbie Goodell 496; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 373; Bruce Kokernot 350.


Chuck Neville and Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner led 162 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Susan Duelle 503; Dara Weis 276; Phil Dutton 163t; Isabelle Gervais-Chapman 448b; Annie Louchester 318; Elizabeth Stoddard and friend 401; Cheryl Stroud 547; Elka Schuman 196; Patrick DeDauw 131b; Susan Jaster 101b; Jackie Hall 327; Ines Lüttgen 83t; Scott Luscombe 353; Robert Stoddard 70b; Bob Parr 339; Elizabeth Stoddard 76 (t? b?); Cheryl Stroud 198; Patrick DeDauw 33b; Ruth Darhonelle 284; Dara Weiss 288.

Chuck Neville and Bob Parr led 62. Announcements were made and reports given. The dates for next year’s convention will be July 12-13, 2013. The closing prayer was offered by Chuck Neville.

Chairman—Chuck Neville; Secretary—Ruth Doerfler