Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Higher Ground Singing

Centenary United Methodist Church, Terre Haute, Indiana

Saturday, March 24, 2012

The 17th annual Higher Ground Singing was called to order by Peggy Brayfield leading 373. Terry Hogg offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chairpersons—Peggy Brayfield and James Eldridge; Arranging Officer—Rebecca Eldridge; Finance Officer—Darrell Swarens; Secretary—Rebecca Eldridge.

Leaders: Darrell Swarens 36b; Terry Hogg 523; Janet Fraembs 99; Wayne Dell 22 (MH); Carol Munro Mosley 9 (MH); Evelyn Lamb 440; Jim Crawford 107; Lori Graber 500; William Shetter 27 (MH); Michael Mosley 6 (MH); John Hoerr 504; Presley Barker 313b; Rebecca Browne 313t; James Eldridge 298; Mary Crawford 444; Daniel Bearden 198; Marcus Whitman 162 (MH); Rebecca Eldridge 441; J.R. Hardman 335.


James Eldridge called the class back to order leading 33t. Leaders: Annaliza Cull 155; Ray Rechenberg 40; Tom Morton 503; Katherine Eldridge 124; Carol Munro Mosley 455; Tim Morton 365; Janet Fraembs 532; Wayne Dell 14 (MH); Lori Graber 368; Evelyn Lamb 542; Darrell Swarens 135 (MH); Terry Hogg 13 (MH); Jim Crawford 546; Joe Astrouski 146; William Shetter 195; John Hoerr 270.

Janet Fraembs spoke for the following sick and shut-ins: Lee Steinmetz, Doris Steinmetz, David Rust, Marlen Rust, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Hal Malehorn, Carol Revill, Gary Gronau, Jim Hearne, and Harrison Creel. She led 86.

Darrell Swarens conducted the memorial lesson and led 267 for the following deceased: Becky Schildman and Michael Veech—Illinois; Tom Schultz—Ontario, Canada; John Merritt—Mississippi; Marie Ivey and Travis Keeton—Alabama; Lonnie Rogers—Georgia; Bob Meek—Kentucky. Terry Hogg closed the lesson with prayer. Peggy Brayfield led 164 (MH) as grace for the noon meal.


James Eldridge called the afternoon session to order by leading 172. Leaders: Rebecca Browne 192; Michael Mosley 564; Thomas Smith 472; Darrell Swarens 128; Darrell Swarens and Michele Cull 236; Joan Aldridge 228; Mary Yeomans 163b; Peggy Brayfield 89 (MH); Presley Barker 505; Marcus Whitman 127 (MH); Mary Crawford 535; Annaliza Cull 268; Adrian Eldridge and Michele Cull 145 (MH); Daniel Bearden 361; J.R. Hardman 63; Virginia Eldridge 106; Katherine Eldridge 114.


The class was called back by Terry Hogg leading 47t. Leaders: Ray Rechenberg 138 (MH); Tom Morton 49b; Carol Munro Mosley 464; Janet Fraembs 91; Wayne Dell 64 (MH); Tim Morton 45 (MH); Rebecca Eldridge 396; Lori Graber 334; Evelyn Lamb 378b; William Shetter 28b; John Hoerr 30b; Joe Astrouski 47b; Michael Mosley 475; Rebecca Browne 276; Virginia Eldridge 300; Mary Yeomans 68b; Thomas Smith 35; Daniel Bearden 196; Marcus Whitman 448t; J.R. Hardman 473; Presley Barker 474; Darrell Swarens 436 (for James Eldridge’s birthday).

After announcements were made, Peggy Brayfield and James Eldridge led 347 as the closing song. Terry Hogg offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairpersons—Peggy Brayfield and James Eldridge; Secretary—Rebecca Eldridge