Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Crossroads Baptist Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia

Sunday, July 3, 2011

The 98th annual Sacred Harp singing and Decoration Day at Crossroads Baptist Church, north of Tallapoosa, Georgia, was held on the first Sunday in July. This day also marked the 100-year anniversary of the church, having been established in 1911. Cecil Roberts called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 75. George Garner offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 35; Miranel Swafford 32t; Donna Bell 68b, 441; Louis Hughes, Jr. 410t, 515.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Louis Hughes, Jr.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 40; Charlene Wallace 81b, 99; Earlis McGraw 201, 283; Karen Rollins 225t (for her daddy, Lonnie Rogers), 297; B.M. Smith 313t, 47t; Karen Clark 566, 569b; Joanna Lampert 27, 197; Aldo Ceresa 56t, 52b.


Louis Hughes, Jr. brought the class back to order by leading 49b. Leaders: Stanley Edwards and Marilyn Bradley 58, 340; Annaliza Cull 448t, 155; Hayden Arp 282, 493; Myles Dakan 56b, 348t; Tom Malone 544; Michele Cull 36b, 34b; Jesse Krikorian 30b, 332.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Rollins. She paraphrased excerpts from a poem by John Donne, saying that no man is an island entirely of itself...any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind; and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee. Karen read the following names of the deceased: Mary Florence Smith, Faye Wood, Ceford Wood, Ron McDaniell, Lee Williamson, Bob Meek, George Seiler, Billy Williams, Frances Ceresa, Ernestine Pipkin, and George Holland. B.M. Smith led 111b.

Karen Rollins read the following names of sick and shut-ins: Lonnie Rogers, Lucy Garner, Nick Griffin, Carlene Griffin, Teenie Moody, Inez Woodall, Christine Sutton, Tom Maher, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Bud Oliver, and Sammie Oliver. Oscar McGuire led 348b. Cecil Roberts closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Richard DeLong 67, 123b; Michael Walker and Pam Pilch 183b, 298 (for Lonnie Rogers); Fred Hoerr 313b, 178. Elder Bobby Clark, pastor of the church, offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Cecil Roberts leading 277. Leaders: John Plunkett 130; Eschol Hughes 270; Guy Bankes 137, 391.

Inez Chandler gave a brief history of the church. She stated that the first service was held on July 4, 1911. The land was donated by Mr. J.M. McBride, a lawyer. On September 23, 1911, B.F. Summerville donated the land for the cemetery and he was also the first person buried there. Mr. E.A. Pope and George Lawson Hughes were two of the charter members mentioned.

Leaders: Louis Hughes 314, 135; Virginia Dyer 195, 269; George Garner 436; Margie Smith 512; J.R. Hardeman 183; Annaliza Cull 268; Aldo Ceresa 192; Michael Walker 193; Tom Malone and Joanna Lampert 530; Myles Dakan and Jesse Krikorian 365; Michele Cull 168; Karen Clark 534; Hayden Arp 408; Oscar McGuire 485; J.R. Hardeman 45t; Richard DeLong and Pam Pilch 399b; Eschol Hughes 203.

Cecil Roberts recognized Mattie Lou Pope and Dorsey Newman. They are both over 95 years of age. Announcements were made.

Cecil Roberts and Miranel Swafford led 347 as the closing song. Eschol Hughes offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell