Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

W. A. Parker, Mr. and Mrs. Joe Myers, and
Elsie Beasley Memorial

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Sunday, October 24, 2010

The annual Sacred Harp singing held in memory of W.A. Parker, Mr. and Mrs. Joe Myers, and Elsie Beasley was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church in Walker County, Alabama, on the fourth Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Marlin Beasley leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Danny Creel. Marlin Beasley led 30t.

The class organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Nora Parker; Arranging Committee—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Marlin Beasley 61; Richard Mauldin 72b, 378t; Judy Caudle 138b, 394; Travis Keeton 400, 475; Harrison Creel 111b, 512; Faye Donaldson 76b, 129; Yancey Jett 89, 108b; Willodean Barton 82t, 454; Wanda Capps 36b, 350.


Marlin Beasley led 34t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Ken Tate 119, 278t; Danny Creel 448t, 503; Kermit Adams 229, 99; Ozella Blackmon 460; Jetty Lawson 127, 335; Nora Parker 317; Steve Adams and Richard Mauldin 101t, 100; Richard Mauldin 143, 146; Yancey Jett 440, 442; Judy Caudle and Danica Thornton 168; Judy Caudle 485 (by request).


The afternoon session was called to order by Marlin Beasley leading 318. Leaders: Travis Keeton 290; Velton Chafin 68b, 573; SuNell Ellis 124; Hannah Tate 436, 542.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Nora Parker and Richard Mauldin. Richard spoke and read the names of the following deceased: Billy Williams, Charlotte McCarn, Earl Harper, and Arley Harper—Alabama; Ray Tate—Arkansas; Myra Palmer—Texas; Jerry Enright—Illinois. Nora Parker and Judy Caudle led 297.

Richard Mauldin spoke and read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Clarence McCool, Aaron Wootten, Lonnie Rogers, Reedie Powell, Cecil Sanders, Josie Hyde, Odell Tidwell, S.T. Reed, and Bud Oliver. He led 45t in their honor. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Marlin Beasley.

Leaders: Danny Creel 56b, 269; Faye Donaldson 81t; Kermit Adams 37b; Ken Tate 212; Willodean Barton 270; Wanda Capps 196; Steve Adams 331; Richard Mauldin 339, 340.

Marlin Beasley led 323t as the closing song. Harrison Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Nora Parker