Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Christian County Historical Museum, Taylorville, Illinois

September 18-19, 2010

Saturday, September 18

The 26th annual session of the Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Martha Tyner leading 146. She welcomed the singers and made announcements. Don Bardsley offered the morning prayer and led 171.

The following officers and committees were previously elected or appointed: Chairperson—Martha Tyner; Co-Chairperson—Don Bardsley; Treasurer—Barbara A. Moore; Secretary—Janet Fraembs; Chaplain—Don Bardsley; Arranging Committee—Berkley Moore, Barbara A. Moore; Finance Committee—Mark Graber, Myles Alexander; Food—Lori Graber, Terry Hogg; Memorial Committee—Don Bardsley, Peggy Brayfield; Resolutions Committee—Becky Browne, Karen Isbell.

Leaders: Lori Graber 276; Peggy Brayfield 63; Miles Alexander 128; Janet Fraembs 312b; Berkley Moore 139; James Page 45 (MH); Penny Kujawinski 29t; Terry Hogg 27; Joan Aldridge 270; Darrell Swarens 481; Ryan Wheeler 34 (MH); Dan Brittain 505; Ted Mercer 62 (MH); William Shetter 142 (MH); Bill Rintz 268; Jan Ketelle 13 (MH); Carol Munro Mosley 127 (MH).


Terry Hogg brought the class back together leading 523. Leaders: Karen Hojnacki 145t; Debbie Hall 192; Michael Domino 138 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 56 (MH); Johanna Fabke 472; Judy Hauff 75 (MH); Michelle Cull 66; Annaliza Cull 448t; Melanie Hauff 68 (MH); Bob Cull 569b; Martha Tyner 479; Don Bardsley 496; Peggy Brayfield 51 (MH); Miles Alexander 328; Janet Fraembs 551; Bob Cull 503; Melanie Hauff 271t; Annaliza Cull 155. Martha Tyner invited the class to lunch and Ryan Wheeler offered the blessing.


Ryan Wheeler called the class back together for the afternoon session leading 39t. Leaders: Michelle Cull 515; Carol Munro Mosely 455; Judy Hauff 3 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 368; Jan Ketelle 89 (MH); Ted Mercer 148 (MH); Dan Brittain 227; Darrell Swarens 507; Berkley Moore 158 (MH); James Page 32 (MH); Joan Aldridge and Annaliza Cull 163b; Ryan Wheeler 148; William Shetter 135; Johanna Fabke 71; Michael Domino 161 (MH); Debbie Hall 474.


The class was brought back together by Berkley Moore leading 229. Leaders: Penny Kujawinski 200; Bill Rintz 345b; Martha Tyner 81t; Don Bardsley 86; Lori Graber 568; Peggy Brayfield 175 (MH); Terry Hogg 172 (MH); Janet Fraembs 173 (MH); Bob Cull 171 (MH); Melanie Hauff 80 (MH); Annaliza Cull 82t; Michelle Cull 168; Judy Hauff 50 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 300; Jan Ketelle 113; Ted Mercer 186.

Following announcements, Martha Tyner led 299. Don Bardsley closed the Saturday session with prayer.

Sunday, September 19

The Sunday session of the Illinois State Convention was called to order by Martha Tyner leading 59. Don Bardsley offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Don Bardsley 34b; Lori Graber 77t; Peggy Brayfield 48t; Janet Fraembs 147t; Terry Hogg 43; Richard Popp 87; Patti Sontag 180 (MH); Les Sontag 272; Wendy Popp 148; Karen Isbell 75 (MH); Presley Barker 107; Nate Zweig 41; Becky Browne 171; Charlie Derleth 36b; Wayne Dell 66; James Page 170 (MH); Joan Aldridge 166; Ryan Wheeler 149 (MH); William Shetter 547.


Janet Fraembs called the class together leading 335. Leaders: Johanna Fabke 150; Joe Astrouski 146; Michael Domino 131b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Don Bardsley and Peggy Brayfield. The names of the deceased read were Larry Devocelle, J. Thomas Fitzgerald, and Jerry Enright—Illinois; Amy Zehm—Kentucky; Chris Cox—Ohio; Lucille Thomas (Richard DeLong’s grandmother)—Georgia; Arlene Miller—New Jersey; Norma Falloon—Missouri; Walter Hartley—North Carolina; George Seiler—New York. Don Bardsley led 285t in their memory.

Peggy Brayfield spoke for the sick and shut-ins, and led 348b in honor of Bob Meek, Lee Steinmetz, Doris Steinmetz, Kris Richardson, Helen Parker, Mary Jean McGuire, Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, Joyce Anderson, Julie Vea, Scott Page, Marky Aden, Karen Corelli, Gayle Von Engeln, and Amy Devocelle. Don Bardsley closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Debbie Hall 22 (MH); Bill Rintz 62; Berkley Moore 473. Terry Hogg offered the blessing before the noon meal.


James Page called the afternoon session together leading 31t. Leaders: Martha Tyner 40; Don Bardsley 236; Lori Graber 568; Peggy Brayfield 82b; Janet Fraembs 532; Terry Hogg 129 (MH); Richard Popp “Discipline;” Patti Sontag 496; Les Sontag 99; Wendy Popp 472; Karen Isbell 142; Presley Barker 481; Nate Zweig 113; Becky Browne 300; Charlie Derleth 34t; Wayne Dell 569t; James Page 84; Ryan Wheeler 417.


Presley Barker brought the class back to order leading 276. Leaders: William Shetter 120 (MH); Johanna Fabke 129; Joe Astrouski 354b; Michael Domino 173; Debbie Hall 19 (MH); Bill Rintz 384; Berkley Moore 114; Karen Isbell 168; Wayne Dell 277; Presley Barker 313b; Nate Zweig 145t; Wendy Popp 215; Charlie Derleth 29t; Debbie Hall 299; Joe Astrouski 159; Johanna Fabke 475.

Announcements were made. The Finance Committee reported that expenses were met. The Resolutions Committee thanked the Creator for the beautiful day, good friends and the gift of our music and traditions; expressed gratitude for all who contributed to the convention; and hoped for a gathering again next year with thanks to our beloved community.

Martha Tyner led 347 as we wished one another a Christians Farewell. Don Bardsley closed with prayer.

Chairperson—Martha Tyner; Co-Chairperson—Don Bardsley; Secretary—Janet Fraembs