Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Zion Homecoming

Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church, Ashland, Alabama

Sunday, May 2, 2010

The annual homecoming singing at Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 32t (for M.B. Forbes), 75, and 112. The opening prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

The following officers were elected to serve: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Myrline Redmon.

Leaders: Robert Chambless 235, 436; Ed Thacker 39b, 456; Jack Nelson 540, 551; Stanley Edwards 442, 500; Judy Chambless 344, 396; Jeff Sheppard 186, 63; Floy Wilder 120, 299; Wendy Futral 35, 369; Nell Estes 40, 172.


Eugene Forbes led 100 to bring the class back together. Leaders: William Futral 61, 490; Virginia Futral 569b, 145b; Myrline Redmon 452, 358; Cecil Roberts 229, 489; Donna Bell 97, 503.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Eugene Forbes. He led 378t in memory of the following deceased: the Wallace family, Reba Norton, Gracie Harry, and Jimmie Denney.

Krista Gurley Baker and Myrline Redmon led 571 (CB) especially for Krista’s grandmother, Audress Gurley, and the other sick and shut-ins as follows: Lonnie Rogers, Mary Florence Smith, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Edna Ruth Phillips, Lois Bowman, Mary Shivers, Mona Nelson, Vernelle Amason, S. T. Reed, and Lessie Reed. Prayer was offered by Jack Nelson to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Lori Hinesley 405, 334; Charlotte Bishop 145t, 143; Roy Nelson and Jack Nelson 348b, 30b.


Eugene Forbes led 101b to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Myra Goss 100, 337; Hambrick Lefebre and Stanley Edwards 108b; Robert Chambless 317; Ed Thacker 176b; Jack Nelson 548; Stanley Edwards 314; Donna Bell 77t; William Futral 341; Wendy Futral 101t; Cecil Roberts 81t; Charlotte Bishop 147t; Lori Hinesley 148; Floy Wilder 297; Myra Goss 127.

After announcements, Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song. William Futral dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Myrline Redmon