Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alabama Collegiate Singing

University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Saturday, February 20, 2010

The 12th annual session of the Alabama Collegiate Singing was held at the Wesley Foundation Methodist Student Center on the campus of the University of Alabama. Tim Cook welcomed everyone and called the class to order by leading 33b. The morning prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tim Cook; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Margaret Keeton; Arranging Committee—Elene Stovall; Memorial Committee—Elder J.L. Hopper and Judy Caudle.

Tim Cook instructed the class in the rudiments of Sacred Harp music, and then led 77b. Leaders: Ed Thacker 182; Elene Stovall 192; Hubert Nall 168; Sarah Beasley 340; Jim Aaron 503; Edward Howton 436; Margaret Thacker 480; Travis Keeton 475; Wayne Baines 318; Anne Chalker 146; Wendell Rinehart 445; Bea Carnathan 205.


The class was brought back together by Tim Cook leading 147t. Leaders: Richard Mauldin 446; Robert Walker 99; Emily Thompson 215; Mary Amelia Taylor 490 (for Xaris Martinez); Scott Ivey 131b; Cheyenne Ivey 77t; Lisa Geist 269; Toney Smith 135; Tim Taylor 163b.


Tim Cook brought the class back to order by asking students, teachers, and former teachers to come in to the square. Linda Cummins, Joanna Biermann, Sarah Beasley, Lisa Geist, Bridgett Hill, Amber Davis, Cheyenne Ivey, Scott Ivey, Emily Thompson, Scott Kennedy, Mary Amelia Taylor, Tyler Thacker, Louise Crunk, Timothy Gibbons, Brian Creel, Amy Lagrone, Lorie Box, and Tim Hardwick led 49t and 178. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 545 (for Clarence McCool); Bridgett Hill 489, 349 (for Clarence McCool); Lomax Ballinger 47b. Elene Stovall read an e-mail message from Xaris Martinez, who is facing surgery and requested prayers. Elene and Carolyn Thompson led 564 in honor of Xaris.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Judy Caudle and J.L. Hopper. Judy Caudle spoke and led 70t in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Clarence McCool, Jewell McCool, Darrell Swarens, Ola Meadows, Earl Ballinger, Lonnie Rogers, Sammie Oliver, Bud Oliver, Hobert Ivey, Willia Rush, Jerry Kitchens, Xaris Martinez, and P. Dan Brittain.

Elder Hopper spoke and led 158 in memory of the following deceased: Peggy Bergman, Willie Mae Moon, Charlotte McCarn, Corene White, Thurman Nall, Paul King—Alabama; Jimmie Denney—Georgia; Myra Palmer, Ophelia Matthews—Texas; Bill Reynolds—Tennessee; and Ray Tate—Arkansas. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Elder J.L. Hopper.

Leaders: Nate Green and Norma Green 278t; Henry Guthery 195; Marlene Ray 143; Velton Chafin 227. Richard Mauldin offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Tim Cook, Dr. Bill Stewart, Timothy Gibbons, Brian Creel, Anna Lagrone, Lorie Box, and Tim Hardwick leading 348b and 66. Leaders: Gravis Ballinger 36b; Carolyn Thompson 163t; Loyd Ivey 283; Josie Hyde 507; Mike Hinton 532; Angela Myers 155; Scott Kennedy and Scott Ivey 549; Amber Davis 142; Mako Cook 515; Bill Stewart 569b; Ivey Biddle 106; Ruth Wyers and Louise Crunk 176b; Judy Caudle 439; J.L. Hopper 438; Mary Amelia Taylor 47t; Emily Thompson 392; Scott Ivey 492; Cheyenne Ivey 56t; Ashley Wigley 196; Lee Decker 63; Mike Hinton 527; Toney Smith and Elene Stovall 316.

Following announcements, Tim Cook led 414 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Wendell Rinehart, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tim Cook; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Margaret Keeton