Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Crossroads Church Memorial Singing

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia

Saturday night, November 14, 2009

The 42nd session of the Crossroads Church Memorial Singing was held on Saturday night before the third Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Cecil Roberts leading 34b. Dorsey Newman offered the opening prayer. Cecil Roberts welcomed those in attendance and gave a brief history of this singing before leading 283.

Leaders: Miranel Swafford 348b (in memory of her father, Gilbert Pope, his siblings, and her grandparents, Gus and Etta Pope), 225t (in honor of Lonnie Rogers); Donna Bell 47t (in honor of Evelyn Harris), 36b (in memory of D.L. McCray).

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Miranel Swafford and Charlene Wallace.

Leaders: Greg Dewberry, Erin Dewberry, and Ashlyn Dewberry 45t; Ann Simpson 452, 155 (in honor of Evelyn Harris); George Garner 499 (in memory of Cefard Wood and D.L. McCray); Margie Smith 512 (in memory of Felton Denney); James Hughes and Cecil Roberts 63; Jane Spencer 213t; Richard DeLong 399b, 27; Eschol Hughes 138b (in memory of the Hughes generations), 30b.


Cecil Roberts and Skye Overby brought the class back to order leading 294. Leaders: B.M. Smith 475, 101t; Alpha Kay Lyle 323b; Karen Clark 565, 467; Shannon Primm 480, 162 (by request); Charlene Wallace 379; Inez Chandler and Cynthia Fielder 490 (in memory of Cefard Wood), 457; C.W. Garner 82t, 100; Donna Bell 358 (by request).

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts led 128 (in honor of the sick and shut-ins) as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by James Hughes.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell