Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church

Near Fayette, Alabama

Sunday, June 28, 2009

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in June was called to order by Larry Ballinger leading 31b. Earl Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

After welcoming comments, the class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman; Arranging Committee—Buddy Ballinger and Gravis Ballinger.

Leaders: Linton Ballinger 283; Amanda Hardiman 475; Sherry Stover and Allie Ballinger 72b; Jerry Jenkins, Miles Jenkins, and Graham Jenkins 30t; David Ballinger, Will Thompson, and Daniel Hardiman 480, 84; Jennifer Jenkins and Jerry Jenkins 145t; Wendell Rinehart 445; Brenda Robbins 217; Lena Keeton 234; Gravis Ballinger 215; Wayne Baines 354t; Teresa Hope 384; Nate Green and Norma Green 373; Case O’Dell and Jarrod Litton 159; Charles Humber 405; Kenneth Tate 228; Chris Ballinger 339; Beth Ballinger and Tory Colvin 546; Joy Litton and Amelia O’Dell 108t.


Lomax Ballinger called the class together leading 503. Leaders: Gary Smith 66; Donny Cooley and David Ballinger 186; Henry Schuman 193; Albert Humber 565; Alana Nelson and Drue Nelson 155; Leslie Brady and Gravis Ballinger 31b; Emily West, Sam West, Jill Porter, and Ella Porter 298; Michael Tolar, Carrie Tolar, and Lisa Geist 49t; Joan Aldridge 167; Travis Keeton 340; Miranda Gilreath 297; Janet Litton 212; Jimmy Ballinger, Phillip Ballinger, Mike Ballinger, Barbara Cooley, and Dianna Anderson (Lavaughn Ballinger’s children) 63; Anne Chalker 146; Teresa Guyton 216.

Deceased singers and those who are sick and shut-ins were honored by singers and listeners singing the words to “Amazing Grace”.


The class was brought back together by Earl Ballinger leading 203. Leaders: Seth Poston 358; Josh Folmar and Ben Argo 47b; Johnny Humber 208; Mike Hankins 490; Clayton Ezell and Phillip Ashworth 300, 108b; Anna Litton and Carol Zeanah 40; Johnny Cooley, Donny Cooley, Craig Anderson, and Todd Anderson 68b; Scott Ivey 220; Bridgett Hill 192; Phillip Ballinger, Josh Ballinger, and Katelyn Ballinger 294.


Lisa Geist called the afternoon session to order by leading 428. Leaders: Hannah Tate 436; Kathy Vlach 344; Toney Smith and Rodney Ivey 392; James Canterbury 59; Bickett Houston 434; Emily Creel 454; Eugene Forbes 168; Rodney Ivey 232; Paul Figura 472; Harrison Creel and Emily Creel 342; Max Berueffy and Karin Covi 438; Loyd Ivey 204; Elene Stovall 558 (in memory of Hamilton Ballinger); Shirley Figura 299; Annie Lou Price 441; Glenn Keeton 349 (for Clarence McCool); Philip Gilmore 270; Amber Davis 380.


Buddy Ballinger called the class to order by leading 354b. Johnny Humber was recognized for managing the finances for the Sacred Harp singing radio program broadcast over WECP station for over 30 years.

Leaders: Bud Oliver 418; Richard Mauldin 378t; Tim Cook 150; Warren Steel 352; Samuel Sommers 502; Henry Guthery 572; Velton Chafin 439; Leon Ballinger 99; Jimmy Ballinger and Daniel Hardiman 45t; Seth Poston 358.

Following announcements, Larry Ballinger and Linton Ballinger led 46 as the closing song. Buddy Ballinger offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman