Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Holt Collier/Mississippi Bear Hunt Convention

Old Court House Museum, Vicksburg, Mississippi

May 30-31, 2009

Saturday, May 30

The 3nd annual Holt Collier/Mississippi Bear Hunt Singing Convention was called to order by John Merritt leading 59 (CB). Arlon Gardner offered the morning prayer. John Merritt explained that the class could sing from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition, or the Alabama Christian Harmony.

Leaders: Henry Guthery 138t (CB), 450 (CB); Arlon Gardner 155 (CHa), 277; Juanita Beasley 39b, 61; Robert Vaughn 569b, 340; Marilyn Burchett 175b (CB), 72 (CB); Vic Whisman 34b, 84; Sandie Scott 171 (CHa), 571 (CB).


John Merritt brought the class to order by leading 120 (CHa). Leaders: Carolyn Thompson 53, 442; Luke Daniel 180 (CHa); Hugh Bill McGuire 328, 472; Elene Stovall 216, 534; Kurt Davis 87, 155; Gary Smith 281 (CHa), 142 (CHa); Will Gilman 44, 268.


Henry Guthery brought the class to order leading 204b (CHa). Leaders: Hans Guttmann 505 (CB), 270 (CB); Natalie Davis 354b, 572 (CB); David Daniel 143 (CHa); Sr. Susan Dickey OP 178, 128; Robert DuPree 63t (CHa), 293 (CHa); Drew McGuire 209, 240; Ken Sundberg 513, 358; John Merritt and Ken Kelley 369 (CHa).


Gaylon Powell brought the class to order leading 248 (CHa) and 203 (CHa). Leaders: John Van Horn 168 (CHa), 133 (CHa); Danny Creel 354t (CHa), 172 (CHa); Alice Sundberg 511t (CB), 518 (CB); Greg Howard 574 (CB), 448t; Martha Beverly 264 (CHa) (for Ruth Wyers), 258 (CHa) (with John Merritt); Ron Ryan 55 (CB), 550 (CB); Emily Creel 140 (CB), 86 (CB); Mark Davis 41t (CHa), 101 (CHa).


Henry Schuman brought the class to order by leading 32t. Leaders: John Merritt 392 (CB); Marlin Beasley 137 (CB), 500 (CB); Tammy Powell 64 (CHa), 250 (CHa); Robert Walker 214 (CHa), 171; Sarah Smith 279 (CHa), 40t (CHa); Bill Beverly 547, 86 (with John Merritt); Darlene Reynolds 484b (CB), 188t (CHa); Henry McGuire 522 (CB), 411 (CB).

John Merritt led 23b (CB) as the closing song. Robert Vaughn offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, May 31

The Sunday session was called to order by John Merritt leading 569 (CB). Arlon Gardner offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Henry Guthery 316 (CHa) 19 (CHa); Juanita Beasley 56t, 63; Arlon Gardner 497 (CB), 380t (CB); Natalie Davis 345t, 79; Ron Ryan 210b (CHa), 333; Luke Daniel and Gabe Sonnier 109 (CHa); Sandra Melscheimer and John Merritt 176t (CB), 96 (CB).


John Merritt brought the class back together by leading ‘Higher Ground’. Leaders: Robert Vaughn 468 (CB), 521 (CB); Emily Creel 57 (CHa), 352 (CHa); Bill Beverly 191 (CHa), 81t (CHa) (with John Merritt); Ann Jett 170 (CHa), 180 (CHa); Robert Walker 51 (CHa), 99; Sarah Smith 59 (CHa), 117 (CHa).


The class was brought back together by Vic Whisman leading 106. Leaders: Vic Whisman 503, 547; Yancey Jett 89, 108b.

Emily Creel and Elene Stovall conducted the memorial lesson. Emily Creel spoke of the sick and home bound and led 68b on behalf of the following: W.M. Allen, Harrison Creel, Clayton Ezell, Paul Figura, Shirley Figura, Hobbs Freeman, Marsha Headrick, Colvin Mann, Ester Mann, Ophelia Matthews, Clarence McCool, Brenda Merritt, Thurman Nall, Lou Nall, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Leland Owen, Myra Palmer, Sue Smith, and Ruth Wyers.

Elene Stovall spoke on behalf of the deceased and led 440 and 564 in memory of the following: Frank Hataway, Denson Hinton, Mattie Townsel, and Gertha Wooten Parker, known as Aunt Gee—Alabama; John Etheridge—Florida; Kathryn Benefield, Frank Block, and Lee Rogers—Georgia; Pauline Creel Childers—Michigan; Dr. William Reynolds—Tennessee; Monnie Ross and Dick Steil—Texas.


John Merritt called the afternoon session to order leading 111b (for Harrison Creel). Leaders: Sandie Scott 464 (CB), 134; Danny Creel 133 (CB), 186 (CHa); Martha Beverly 82t (CHa), 82b (CHa); John Van Horn 263 (CB), 465 (CB); Greg Howard 313t, 488b (CB); Carolyn Thompson 504, 383; Gaylon Powell 232 (CB), 235 (CB); Elene Stovall 559 (CB); Hugh Bill McGuire 542, 196; Darlene Reynolds 490, 145t; Hans Guttmann 38b; Marilyn Burchett 393t (CB), 229 (CB); Marlin Beasley 77t, 406; Tammy Powell 163b; Gary Smith 46t (CHa), 30b (CHa); Mark Davis 255 (CHa), 52 (CHa).

Announcements were made. John Merritt and Ken Sundberg led 323t (CB) as the closing song. Robert Vaughn dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—John Merritt; Vice Chairman—Henry Guthery; Secretary—Henry Schuman