Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shady Grove Annual Singing

Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Winston County, Alabama

Sunday, January 6, 2008

The Shady Grove Annual Singing was held at Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church in Winston County, Alabama, on the first Sunday in January. Kermit Adams called the class to order leading 39b. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Kermit Adams; Vice Chairman—Dawson Adams; Arranging Committee—Margaret Keeton; Secretary—Roma Rice.

Leaders: Kermit Adams 36b; Dawson Adams 328, 77t (for Amanda Denson); Roma Rice 490, 45t; Lena Keeton 100, 111b; Corene White 37b, 279; Leona Haynes 146, 176b; Don Robertson 151, 335; Stella Pratt 61, 317b; Travis Keeton 340, 284; Parnell Berry 406, 441; Gravis Ballinger 120, 112.


Kermit Adams led 33b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Faye Donaldson 270, 430; Butch White 326, 89; Harrison Creel 512; Lisa Geist 224, 546; Clarence McCool 349, 203; Glenn Keeton 229 (in memory of Wilton Donaldson), 178; Larry Ballinger 177 (for Earl Ballinger), 76t; Richard Mauldin 312b, 129 (in memory of Ivalene Donaldson and Wilton Donaldson).

Richard Mauldin conducted the memorial lesson. The following sick and shut-ins were honored: Amanda Denson, Ken Tate, Latrive Bailey, and Charlotte McCarn.

The following deceased were remembered: Garnsey McGough, Edith Tate, Wilton Donaldson, Dick Mauldin, Felton Denney, Heath Jett, Gladys McGraw, Cecil Wakefield, Delores Beasley, Fern Kitchens, and Bernice Watts.

Richard Mauldin led 339, and Butch White closed the memorial with prayer.


Dawson Adams called the afternoon session to order leading 68b. Leaders: Josie Hyde 507, 477; Reba Lawler 82t, 424; Emily Jones 31t, 337; Velton Chafin 222, 488; Cecil Sanders and Winell Sanders 569b, 380, 318; Theresa Westmoreland 192, 200; Harrison Creel 498; Margaret Keeton 365, 97; Richard Mauldin 499; Don Robertson 172; Kermit Adams 99.

Kermit Adams led 75 as the closing song. Harrison Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Kermit Adams; Vice Chairman—Dawson Adams; Secretary—Roma Rice