Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing

Vineville United Methodist Church, Macon, Georgia

Saturday, April 14, 2007

The 4th annual Middle Georgia Sacred Harp singing was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in April at the Vineville United Methodist Church in Macon, Georgia. Harry Eskew called the class to order leading 63. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice Chairman—Raymond Hamrick; Arranging Committee—John Plunkett; Secretary—Rita Haley.

Leaders: Harry Eskew 49t; John Plunkett 50t, 40; Jason Hollis 32t, 36b; Rita Haley 59, 268; John Hollingsworth 97; Patrick Lowder 314, 479; Martha Almond 340, 490; Michael Spencer 278b, 207; Erica Hinton 34b, 77t; Allison Dodson 89, 335; Paul Clark 515; Martha Harrell 203, 523.


Harry Eskew called the class back to order leading 146. Leaders: Mary Brownlee 200, 163t; David Grant 274b, 324; Jane Spencer 65, 99; Jackson Harcrow 42, 101t; Louis Hughes 270, 76b; Helen Bryson 131b, 196; Faye Hollis 100, 171; Bentley McGuire 481, 74b; Matt Hinton 168, 501; Charlene Wallace 155, 283; Bill Hollingsworth 39b, 236; Agnes Roberts 143, 120.


Harry Eskew opened the afternoon session leading 73b. Leaders: Wesley Haley 45t, 300; Lee Rogers 415, 350; Hugh McGraw “Isaac” (a new composition by Raymond Hamrick).

Helen Bryson conducted the memorial lesson, and led 348b. The deceased remembered were Nancy Haley, Runelle Crawford, Myra Smith, Helen Plunkett, Albert Bryson, and Eldora Moody. The sick and shut-ins honored were Gladys McGraw, Loy Garrison, Dorothy Garrison, Violet Thomason, Sherry Lovvorn, and Homer Benefield. John Plunkett closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Rosemund Watson 503, 94; Oscar McGuire 441, 229; Susan Harcrow 159, 430; Sharon Hamrick 460, 276; John Plunkett 81t (for Loyd Landrum); Jason Hollis 344; Patrick Lowder 269; Martha Almond 361; Michael Spencer 86; Erica Hinton and Matt Hinton 47b; Susan Harcrow 385b; Rosemund Watson, Martha Harrell, and Mary Brownlee 538; Raymond Hamrick 510; Bentley McGuire 218.

Following announcements, Harry Eskew led 62 as the closing song. Loyd Landrum dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice-Chairman—Raymond Hamrick; Secretary—Rita Haley