Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

May 19, 1996

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church was held on the third Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Cecil Edwards leading song on page 75. The morning prayer was led by B. J. Harris. Cecil Edwards led song on page 61; B. M. Smith 127, 70t. A business session was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—B. M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Memorial Committee—Ruth Brown; Arranging Committee and Secretary—Hester Edwards. B. M. Smith led song on page 101t. Leaders: Lou Cotney 196, 300; Frances Jones 569b, 334; Alice Edwards 73b, 104; Harvey Austin 566, 335; Revy Williamson 137, 155; Mildred Patterson 313t, 319; I. V. McWhorter 109, 349; Don Bowen 66, 178; Joyce Clackum 56t, 111t; Estelle Flowers 270, 384.


Singing was resumed with B. M. Smith leading song on page 123 (t? b?). Leaders: Roy Nelson 97, 434 for Lola Jenkins; Bonnie Flowers 72b, 342; A. L. Beckett 369, 490; Carlene Griffin 113, 309; Donald Jones 100, 147t for Aunt Ginny and Aunt Grace; Eloise Avery 480, 426b. A cemetery report was given by Charles Norton. A memorial lesson was held to remember those who have passed away in the last year. Those remembered: Russell Norton, Ruby Gibson, Herman Lambert, Mr. Smith (father of Joyce Walton), Ester Reed, Mrs. Jessie Lee Jackson, David Weaver (infant), William Cole Austin, and all those whose names were not called. Bonnie Flowers led song on page 347 for the deceased. Ruth Brown spoke of the sunshine that we give to each other, and B. J. Harris led song on page 32t for the sick and shut-ins. Ruth Brown led song on page 285t and was joined by Louise Holland and Sylvia Holland. The memorial was closed with prayer by Elder Marshall Avery.


The class was called together by B. M. Smith leading song on page 73t. Leaders: Richard DeLong 205, 202; Sylvia Holland 348b, 45t; Bud Oliver 145t, 426t; Judy Mincey 50b, 410 (t? b?); John Plunkett 53, 39t; Katherine Benefield 47t, 47b; Jonathan Blakely 176 (t? b?), 31t; Evelyn Harris 87, 146; Marshall Avery 74b, 111 (t? b?); Reba Norton and Karen Reeves 61; Bobby Bailey 303, 68b; Jeff Sheppard 408, 358 by request; Herman Smith 332, 333; Sam Jones 179, 63; Lewis Norton 318, 39b; B. J. Harris 225t; Cecil Edwards 294 by request; B. M. Smith and Judy 127; Louise Holland 323b, 147t; Shelbie Sheppard 143; Pam Nunn 269; Florence Williams 418; Ginnie Prater 496. Announcements were made. B. M. Smith led song on page 36b as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Rev. A. L. Beckett.

Chairman—B. M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Secretary—Hester Edwards.