Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Elmore Center Singing

Elmore Center United Methodist Church, near Gordo, Alabama

Wednesday, August 16, 2006

The 162nd annual session of the Elmore Center Sacred Harp Singing was held at Elmore Center United Methodist Church near Gordo, Alabama, on Wednesday before the third Sunday in August. Clarence McCool brought the class to order leading 101t. The morning prayer was offered by Earl Ballinger.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Clarence McCool; Vice Chairman—Jack Pate; Secretary—Margaret Keeton; Arranging Committee—Wayne Baines.

Leaders: Clarence McCool 36b; Faye Donaldson 225t, 129; Jack Pate 535, 341; Linda Funderburk 288, 373, 39t; Bill Stewart 569b, 452; T.J. Funderburk 63, 47b, 68b; Hugh Bill McGuire 490, 503; Toney Smith 30t, 48t.


Wayne Baines called the class back to order with 127, 111b, and 100. Leaders: David Allison 45t; Larry Ballinger 138t, 338, 56t; Erma Hitt 235, 490, 346; John Van Horn 410t, 224; Travis Keeton 321, 179, 290; Earl Ballinger 331, 122.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Clarence McCool leading 87. Leaders: Margaret Keeton 155, 217; John Moore and Toney Smith 59; Katie Allison 72b, 73t; Dan Farley played a medley of hymns on the French harp then led 81t; Wayne Baines 480; Hugh Bill McGuire 300 (in memory of A.A. Malone); John Van Horn 200; Jack Pate 348b; Faye Donaldson 124 (for John Hyde, who is sick); Travis Keeton 343; T.J. Funderburk 147t; Erma Hitt 101t; Larry Ballinger 97; Linda Funderburk 58; Earl Ballinger 76b; Toney Smith 160 (t? b?); Margaret Keeton 294 (in memory of Patricia Driver’s grand parents); Toney Smith 218; David Allison 502.

Clarence McCool led 62 as the closing song. David Allison offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Clarence McCool; Vice Chairman—Jack Pate; Secretary—Margaret Keeton.