Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Liberty Decoration Singing

Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday June 4, 2006

The annual Decoration Day Sacred Harp Singing held at Liberty Church was called to order with Chairman David Ivey leading 82t and 89 (in memory of Andrew Ivey). The morning prayer was offered by Loyd Ivey.

Cassie Franklin Allen was appointed as the Arranging Committee.

The officers for the day were Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Norma Latham Green.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 129; Shane Wootten 144 (in memory of Noah Lacy and Leonard Lacy); Norma Green 123t; Cassie Allen 186; Phil Summerlin 63; Betty Wright 348b; Mike Dunn 137; Ed Thacker 202; Bud Oliver 73t; Joyce Walton 31t; Drew Smith 35; Linda Thomas 50b; Randall Smith 36b; Rex Wilks and Joan Wilks 503; Tony Ivey 570; Sally House 347 (in memory of Karen House); S.T. Reed 403 (for Milton Oliver).

The memorial lesson was held in the cemetery with the class singing 340, 491 (WB); 517 (WB); 511b (CB); 45t.


Rodney Ivey called the class together leading 81t. Leaders: Eddie Mash 164; Gravis Ballinger 203; Jessica Findley 101t; Aaron Wootten 39t; Jerry Enright 300 (in memory of Barrett Ashley, Lawrence Underwood, and Lula Underwood); Nate Green and Norma Green 348t (in memory of his brother, Bill Green, who died this week); Henry Johnson 111b; Lauren Hall 312b; Barrett Patton 559 (CB); Dennis George 418; Scott Ivey, Hobert Ivey, and Loyd Ivey 424; Blake Sisemore 42; Bailey Patton and Rodney Ivey 45t; Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 448b, 40; Alexandra Makris 84; John Taylor Shavers 354b; Kennedy Wootten and Jeffery Wootten 478 (CB); Rachel Shavers and Rachel Ivey 59; Lily Underwood and Martha Underwood 378t; Adam Biddle 335; Michael Thompson, Jesse Sparks, and Lindsey Sparks 176b; Edward Howton 373; Judy Caudle 564. The lunch blessing was asked by Phil Summerlin.


The afternoon session was called together by Loyd Ivey leading 108t. Leaders: Bridgett Hill 440; Larry Ballinger 158; Elene Stovall 215; Marty Wootten and Lorrie Wootten 99 (for Marlon Wootten and Eloise Wootten); Daphene Causey 336; Karen Freund 421; Betty Shepherd 216; Coy Ivey and the Ivey first cousins 491 (WB), 486 (WB); Cindy Tanner 436; Sandra Wilkinson 313t (in memory of her mother, Sadie Wilkinson); Reba Windom 546 (in memory of the deceased members of the Lacy family); Karen Ivey and Allison Ivey 192, 182; Wayne Wootten 445; Sharon DuPriest and Rodney Ivey 358; Jackie Tanner 270; Max Berueffy 217; Russ Hanson 299; Donna Wootten and Randall Smith 76b; Loretta Smith 317; Loyd Ivey, Marion Biddle, Teresa Bethune, Doug Ivey, Candice Sizemore, and Lindsay Bethune 501 (CB).


Shane Wootten and Sharon DuPriest brought the class together leading 212. Leaders: Syble Adams and Rhonda Arnold 171; Karen Gresham, Tammy Jett, Jessica Findley, Alex Wade, and Jackie Tanner 430; Mary Ruth Stiefel 280; Daniel Sears 282; Sandy Ivey 56t; Hobert Ivey and Linda Patton 490 (in memory of her mother, Bob Greeson); Billy Allen and Cassie Allen 37b; Tony Ivey, Rodney Ivey, and Marian Biddle 47t; Tony Ivey and Rodney Ivey 34t (in memory of Eulas Ivey).

Following announcements, David Ivey and Tony Ivey led 146 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed in prayer by Pastor Tony Ivey.

Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Norma Latham Green.