Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Poplar Springs Baptist Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia, off Hwy. 100

Sunday, May 22, 2005

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Poplar Springs Baptist Church was held on the fourth Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Miranel Swafford leading 59. Cecil Roberts offered the morning prayer.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Earlis McGraw; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging/Memorial Committee—Miranel Swafford, Carlene Griffin, and Evelyn Harris.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 63; Earlis McGraw 163t, 101t; Bobby Jackson 100, 32t, 499; Oscar McGuire 75, 129, 473; Billy Joe Harris 225t, 303, 503; Judy Chambless 569b, 81t, 82t.


The class was called back to order by Cecil Roberts leading 30b. Leaders: Robert Chambless 507, 70t, 68b; Karen Rollins 143, 358, 36b.

Miranel Swafford conducted the memorial lesson. Lonnie Rogers led 348b and 97 for the deceased: Evelyn Newman, Howard Key, Naomi Sailors, Robert Garner, Albert Pope, Bertha Pope, and Hoyt Pope.

Oscar McGuire led 57 for all the sick and shut-ins. Rev. Lee Hollis closed the memorial with prayer and offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Earlis McGraw leading 425 and 271t. Leaders: Louise Owen 349, 274t; Mildred Patterson 119, 111t, 335; Joyce Lambert 127, 56t, 61; Inez Chandler and Ceford Wood 290, 490, 457; Hugh McGraw 94, 105; Evelyn Harris 39b, 47t; Elder Lewis Norton 418, 341, 33b; Charlene Wallace 147t, 201; Carlene Griffin 155; Cecil Roberts 312b.

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts led 46 as the closing song. Elder Lewis Norton offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Earlis McGraw; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.