Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing

Vineville United Methodist Church, Macon, Georgia

Saturday, March 19, 2005

The second annual Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in March at the Vineville United Methodist Church in Macon, Georgia. The singing was held in conjunction with Macon’s Cherry Blossom Festival. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chairman Harry Eskew leading 34b.

The following officers were duly elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Harry Eskew, Vice Chairman—Oscar McGuire; Secretary—Rita Haley; Finance Committee—Jo Ann Powell; Arranging Committee—Raymond Hamrick; Memorial Committee—John Plunkett, Lloyd Landrum, and Jeannette DePoy.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 171; Rita Haley 63; John Plunkett 155; Lloyd Landrum 146; Sharon Hamrick 236; Tony Hammock 148; Timothy Haley 282; Charlene Wallace 186; Arlene Woods 30b; Robert Chambless 72t; David Grant 287; Judy Chambless 569b; Greg Holmes 294; Bobby Jackson 290; Martha Almond 340; Fay Hollis 99.


Oscar McGuire called the class back to order with 145t. Leaders: Martha Harrell 198; Melinda Snow 474; Charles Woods 365; Karen Rollins 143; Ellie Soler 38b; John Hollingsworth 408; Helen Bryson 299; Mary Brownlee 556; Wesley Haley 344; Jeannette DePoy 229; Rosemund Watson 503; Darlene Merritt 298; Wayne Watson 480; Hugh McGraw 491.

Raymond Hamrick, on behalf of Emory University Candler School of Theology, presented a plaque to Hugh McGraw, recognizing his contributions to Sacred Harp and shape note music, and then read a letter from Don Sellers of Emory University. Hugh McGraw received the plaque, thanking Emory for the honor.


Harry Eskew called the afternoon session to order with 354b. Leaders: John Plunkett 225t; Raymond Hamrick 350; Oscar McGuire 276; Rita Haley 268; Sharon Hamrick 460; Tony Hammock 498; Timothy Haley 384; Charlene Wallace 385b.

The memorial lesson was held. Jeannette DePoy read the names of the deceased to be remembered and led 138b in their memory: John Hocutt—Alabama; Charles Crawford, Naomi Sailors, Barbara DePoy, Dorothy Jones, and Otis Hester—Georgia; Tom DePoy and Lois DePoy—Indiana; Kelly Beard—Texas.

The sick and shut-ins list was read, and 129 sung in honor of Violet Thomason, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, and Robert Creamer. John Plunkett closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Arlene Woods 274b; David Grant 85; Bobby Jackson 34t; Martha Almond 490; Fay Hollis 168; Martha Harrell 77t; Melinda Snow 523; Charles Woods 413; Karen Rollins 178; Ellie Soler 277; Helen Bryson 361; Mary Brownlee 347; Timothy Haley 282; Rosemund Watson 66; Hugh McGraw 45t.

After announcements were made, Hugh McGraw led 62 as the closing song. Lloyd Landrum offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice Chairman—Oscar McGuire; Secretary—Rita Haley.