Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Emory Sacred Harp Singing

Cannon Chapel, Emory University; Atlanta, Georgia

Saturday, February 19, 2005

The first Sacred Harp Singing at Emory University was called to order by John Plunkett leading 59. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer. Don Saliers and William R. Cannon, Professor of Theology and Worship, welcomed the class to Emory.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Elise Eskew; Secretary—Laura Akerman.

Leaders: John Plunkett 52t; Elise Eskew 72b, 480; Laura Akerman 129, 208; Arlene Woods 81t, 30t; Phillip Langley 168, 440; Harry Eskew 34b, 146; Andy Anderson 27, 28t; Rita Haley 63, 268; Patrick Brown 267, 284; Don Saliers 155, 245.


Elise Eskew called the class back by leading 40. Leaders: Malinda Snow 455, 147t; Debora Grosse 569t, 569b; Lee Rogers 475, 540; Kelly Morris 49b, 159; Charles Woods 77t (in memory of Gary McGraw); Frances Mary D’Andrea 384, 148 (In memory of Dr. Alan Koenig); Raymond Hamrick 354t, 182.

A plaque was presented to Raymond Hamrick by Emory University’s Candler School of Theology in appreciation of his contributions to the Sacred Harp and American hymnody. John Plunkett then led 503.


John Plunkett brought the class back to order with 49t. Leaders: Don Bowen 225t, 77b; Lela Crowder 203, 42; Matt Hinton 99, 163t; Tony Hammock 201, 112; Joan Durdin 29t, 178; Wesley Haley 198; John Hollingsworth 460, 354b; Richard DeLong 39b, 349; Maurice York 47b, 192; Susan Posey 183, 479; Nancy Yeager 523, 84.


The class resumed singing with Elise Eskew leading 454. Leaders: Judy Mincey, Judith Hans, and Christy Hans 498, 492; David Yeager 45t, 38b; Ellie Soler 38t, 504; Mildred Patterson 335, 119; Bob Goodman 209, 66; Cathy White 348b; Liz Bryant 347, 547; Martha Ann Stegar 47t, 46; Sandra Wilkinson 300; Sandra Wilkinson and John Plunkett 236.

Following announcements, Elise Eskew and John Plunkett led 62 as the closing song. Don Saliers led the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairlady—Elise Eskew; Secretary—Laura Akerman.