Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alvis Brothers and B.I. Wood Memorial Singing

Pilgrim’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church, Attalla, Alabama

Saturday, November 2, 2002

The annual Sacred Harp Memorial Singing for Alvis Brothers and B.I. Wood was held at Pilgrim’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church in Attalla, Alabama on Saturday before the first Sunday in November. Ron Crocker called the class to order leading song on page 31b. Elder J.L. Hopper offered the morning prayer.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Ron Crocker; Secretary—Gloria Hutchens; Arranging Committee—Ella Ruth Chamblee, Ruby Brothers, and Billie Dean Waid.

Leaders: Ron Crocker 138b; Eunice Campbell 77t; Helen Lambert 277, 278b; Judy Caudle 33b, 48t; Glenda Hopper 30t, 75; Hershell King 101t, 176b; Doris Brown, Billie Dean Waid, and Gloria Hutchens 490, 460, 100; Irene Jordan 46, 405; J.L. Hopper 33t, 121, 499.


Ron Crocker brought the class to order leading song on page 47t. Leaders: Seth Crocker 39b, 445; Debra Rietch 89, 480; Bessie Hollbrook 457; Carmon Brothers 274 (t? b?), 172, 45t (in memory of Alvis Brothers and B.I. Wood); Carmon Brothers and Ruby Brothers 340, 87 (in memory of Alvis Brothers and B.I. Wood); J.L. Hopper 501 (CB); Helen Lambert 478t (WB), 426t.


The afternoon session began with Ron Crocker leading song on page 47b. Leaders: Joycee Wootten 512 (WB); Billie Dean Waid and Joycee Wootten 49t; Hershell King 235; Gloria Hutchens and Billie Dean Waid 146, 378t; Irene Jordan 44; J.L. Hopper 566, 358; Debra Rietch 294; Carmon Brothers 544, 58; Jack Jordan 569b.

This year marks the 24th year that this singing has been held in memory of Alvis Brothers and B.I. Wood.

Ron Crocker led song on page 143 as the closing song. Jack Jordan offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Ron Crocker; Secretary—Gloria Hutchens.