Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Edwardsville Baptist Church

Edwardsville (Cleburne County), Alabama

April 7, 2002

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Edwardsville Baptist Church on the first Sunday in April was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Lonnie Rogers leading song on page 101t. Rev. Rodney Hagan, pastor of the church, offered the morning prayer. Lonnie Rogers led song on page 75, followed by B.M. Smith leading 111b and 155.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Eunice Webb; Vice Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Arranging Committee/Secretary—Hester Edwards.

Leaders: Eunice Webb 37b, 32t; Mary Florence Smith 31b, 61; Bobby Jackson 445, 34t; Evelyn Harris 39b, 47t; John Plunkett 41, 539; Lou Cotney 384, 218; Everette Denney 119, 490; Charlene Wallace 129, 448b; Shelbie Sheppard 333; Harvey Austin 335, 108t.


The class was called back to order by Eunice Webb leading song on page 30t. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 140, 301; Hugh McGraw 232; Teenie Moody 171, 186; Jimmie Denney 111t, 46; Oscar McGuire 276, 441; Lois Owen 373; Michael Turner 58, 59; Billy Joe Harris 225t, 303; Felton Denney 385b, 299; Michael Turner 294.

Mary Florence Smith conducted the memorial lesson, and Shelbie Sheppard led song on page 385t for the following deceased: Helen Woodrow Dill, Jesse Ray Cruise, Sarah Rakestraw, Henry Norman Cavander, Cleola Warren Cash, Jack Robertson, Reba Edwards, Cecil Edwards, Ethel Hogan, Lois Deering, Oakie Austin, Polly Moore, Berta Wood, and Wilford Denney.

Felton Denney led song on page 68b for the following sick and shut-ins: Noel Thompson, Molene Thompson, Lura Jean Monroe, Sandie Sensenbach (daughter of Roy and Louise Nelson), Obie Laminack, Vivian Rogers, Alice Edwards, Mozelle Sheppard, and I.V. McWhorter. Mary Florence Smith closed the memorial with prayer.

Rev. Rodney Hagan, pastor of the church, welcomed everyone and expressed appreciation for all the singers who came to make this a special day for the church, and offered the blessing on the food for the noon meal.


Lonnie Rogers called the afternoon session to order by leading songs on pages 389 and 222. Leaders: B.M. Smith 475, 284; Winfred Kerr 89, 87; Ruth Daniel 378t, 100; Sherrell Cleino 127, 146; Cecil Roberts 72b; Felton Denney 149; Bobby Jackson 290; Oscar McGuire 573; John Plunkett 354 (t? b?); Sherrell Cleino 159; Lou Cotney 497; Jeff Sheppard 506; Mary Florence Smith 63; Jimmie Denney 143 (for Vivian Rogers); B.M. Smith 318 (in memory of Eula Johnson), 406 (for Beulah Reese); Everette Denney 405; Mary Florence Smith 73b (for Alice Edwards); Michael Turner 358.

After announcements were made, Harvey Austin dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Eunice Webb; Vice Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Secretary—Hester Edwards.