Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chesnut Grove Church

Ider, Alabama

October 8, 2000

The seventy-fourth session of the annual Chesnut Grove Sacred Harp Singing was held on the second Sunday in October. The singing was called to order by Co-Chairmen Chris Carroll and Jenny Wootten leading songs on pages 82t and 111t. Pastor Steve Lea welcomed the congregation and led the morning prayer. Chris Carroll and Jenny Wootten led songs on pages 101t and 48t. Leaders following: Billy Thompson 488b (CB), 511 (CB); Lamar Smith and Randall Smith 76b, 343b; Coy Ivey 511t (CB), 505 (CB); Dewayne Wootten 143; Betty Wright 347, 410t; Myra Dalton 56t, 47t; Henry Johnson 278t, 278b; Morene Brown and Mark Brown 68b, 515; Allison Ivey 448t, 99; Elene Stovall and Coy Ivey 39b, 59.


The class resumed singing with Chris Carroll and Jenny Wootten leading song on page 108t. Leaders: Terry Wootten 129, 270; Winnie Blevins and David Ivey 136, 358; Brenda Carroll 28b, 299; Christy Blevins 147t; Rodney Ivey 58, 61; Aaron Wootten 45t; Shawn Carroll 186, 171; Dennis George 475, 480; Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, and Jamie Wootten 87. Brother Ralph Heard asked the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was called to order by Chris Carroll and Jenny Wootten leading song on page 128. Jenny Wootten led “Sweet Beulah Land” for the memorial lesson and for the sick and shut-in.

Leaders: Shane Wootten and Donna Wootten 145t; Cheyenne Ivey 354b; Linda Sides 81t, 74b; Cassie Franklin 74t, 448b; Jackie Tanner 378t, 317b; Sheila Wootten 29t; Ralph Heard 535; Cindy Franklin 498, 200; Marlon Wootten and Shane Wootten 97; Claudene Townson 277; Nate Green and Norma Green 388; Eloise Wootten 282; Charlotte Heard 503; Charles Stiefel and Dennis George 47b; Coy Ivey, David Ivey, and Rodney Ivey “Trusting” (WB); Chris Carroll, Jenny Wootten, and Oliver Jenkins 559 (CB). After announcements the class was dismissed with prayer by Pastor Steve Lea.

Co-Chairmen—Chris Carroll and Jenny Wootten; Secretary—Myra Dalton.