Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B.F. White Sacred Harp
Singing Convention

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 15, 2019

The annual B.F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by John Plunkett, who led 30t. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer. The Chairman warmly welcomed everyone, and then led 107. Leaders: Russ Hanson 61, 32t; Sandra Wilkinson 118t, 264b; Tony Hammock 33b, 368b; Andy Ditzler 550b, 344; Henry Johnson 32b, 77b; Kelly Morris 159, 447t; Oscar McGuire 276, 171; David Brodeur 119, 121; Helen Bryson 490b (for Don Bowen), 549b; Linda Thompson 334, 335; Tom Hanson 548t, 512; Carol Hanson 513, 47b.


Russ Hanson called the class back to order leading 120. Leaders: Russ Hanson 300; John Plunkett 55t (for Judy Mincey), 504; Carol Hanson 40; Sandra Wilkinson 487t, 316; Tony Hammock 426t, 370; Oscar McGuire 371, 155 (for Charlene Wallace); Henry Johnson 495, 549t; Kelly Morris 48b, 49b; Helen Bryson 49t, 358. In a business session, a motion was made and seconded to keep the same officers. This was unanimously approved. The business session was closed and Oscar McGuire asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by John Plunkett leading 479b. Leaders: Andy Ditzler 54t (for Judy Mincey), 215; David Brodeur 200, 202; Jesse Karlsberg 491t, 511; Malinda Snow 46t, 547t; Tom Hanson 72b, 36b; Virgel (Cricket) Campbell 354, 319; Linda Thompson 144, 145b; Leslie Hanson 540, 408; Jesse Roberts 546t, 73t; Henry Slack 181, 145t.


Russ Hanson brought the class back to order leading 387. Leaders: Carol Hanson 313; Tony Hammock 312 (in memory of Rozlyn Greene); Sandra Wilkinson 509.

Sandra Wilkinson conducted the memorial lesson. The list of sick and shut-ins included Judy Mincey, Charlene Wallace, Leona Harber, Barbara George, Barbara Leavelle, Cath Saunt, Georgia Ann Corbin, Agnes Todd, Janice Bryson, and Grace Watts. The deceased remembered were Bessie Prince, Susan Roberts, Mildred Patterson, and Robbie Rivers—Georgia; Rozlyn Greene and Eugene Forbes—Alabama; Lamar Wilkinson—Pennsylvania. Sandra led 501b. Jesse Roberts offered a special prayer.

Leaders: Jesse Roberts 369; Oscar McGuire 37t; Henry Johnson 443; Kelly Morris 38b; Malinda Snow 138b; Jesse Karlsberg 442b; David Brodeur 125; Virgel (Cricket) Campbell 146; Linda Thompson 517; Leslie Hanson 494; Tom Hanson 299. Following announcements, John Plunkett led 389t as the closing song. Malinda Snow offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson