Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

B.M. Smith Memorial Singing

Midway Primitive Baptist Church, Armuchee, Georgia

Saturday, August 17, 2019

The annual Sacred Harp singing was held at Midway Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the third Sunday in August. Isaac Green called the class to order leading 60. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Isaac Green 123t; Margie Smith 225t; Winfred Kerr 283; Nate Green and Norma Green 475; Joyce Lambert 445; Taylor Watkins 277; Eric Tweedy 188; Helen Bryson 568; Bill Dupree 36b; Gayle Denney and Philip Denney 61; Karen Rollins 350; Bert Collins 542; Henry Johnson 409; Ann Jett 136; David Brodeur 279; Reba Windom 72b; Tom George 162; Bob Watkins 318.


Isaac Green led 101t to bring the class together. In a business meeting, the following offices were elected to serve: Chairman—Isaac Green; Vice Chairman—David Brodeur; Secretary—Cindy Tanner.

Leaders: John Plunkett 459; Wyatt Denney 432; Chrissy Clements 127; Andy Ditzler 503; Lisa Bennett 317; Jackie Tanner 89; Don Bowen and Ed Thacker 39b; Jesse P. Karlsberg 186; Amber Davis 560; David Smead 558; Sarah Trumbore 114; Justin Bowen 387; Jeannette DePoy 99; Robert Chambless 77t; Cindy Tanner 208; Peter Trumbore 300; Lisa Geist 269; Scott DePoy 179; Darlene Dalton 146; Jerusha Wheeler 278b; Gary Davis 335; Glenda Collins 454 (for her aunt); Earl Ballinger 439; Judy Chambless 472 (for Rene Greene family); Larry Ballinger 448b; Lauren Bock 464. Bob Watkins asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Cindy Tanner and Taylor Watkins leading 155. Leaders: Phil Summerlin 405; Robert Chambless, Judy Chambless, and Karen Rollins 389; Darlene Dalton and Eric Tweedy 200; David Smead, Lisa Bennett, and Don Bowen 77b (for Charlene Wallace and Judy Mincey); Justin Bowen and Reba Windom 546 (for Sharon DuPriest); David Brodeur and Andy Ditzler 484; Bob Watkins and Taylor Watkins 498; Henry Johnson and Winfred Kerr 52b; Wyatt Denney, Gayle Denney, and Philip Denney 39t; Bert Collins, Glenda Collins, and Gary Davis 378t; Tom George, Sarah Trumbore, and Peter Trumbore 496; Jerusha Wheeler 276; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Margie Smith 144; Scott DePoy and Jeannette DePoy 74b; Lisa Geist, Earl Ballinger, and Larry Ballinger 528; Phil Summerlin and Bill Dupree 128; Jesse P. Karlsberg and Lauren Bock 423; Ann Jett, Cindy Tanner, and Justin Bowen 327; Chrissy Clements 163b; Ed Thacker and Tom George 480 (for Margaret Thacker); Amber Davis and Bob Watkins 436.

Isaac Green led 69t as the closing song. Scott DePoy dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Isaac Green; Vice Chairman—David Brodeur; Secretary—Cindy Tanner