Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rogers Memorial Singing

Ephesus School, Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, March 3, 2019

The annual Rogers Memorial Singing was held at Ephesus School on the first Sunday in March. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Denney Rogers leading 101t. The morning prayer was offered by Robert Chambless. Leaders: Karen Rollins 75; Judy Chambless 389; Winfred Kerr 283; Samuel Williams 286; Lisa Bennett 99.

A short business session was then held, and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Karen Rollins; Arranging—Judy Chambless. Mayor Denney Rogers welcomed everyone to Ephesus.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 89; Eli Hinton 186; Margie Smith and Rodney Ivey 475; Lela Crowder 348b; Anna Hinton 455; Nathan Rees 71; Rebecca Over 326; David Smead 191; Karen Clark 466; Bert Collins 97.


Rodney Ivey called the class back together by leading 225t. Leaders: Susan Cherones 564; Loyd Ivey 512; Daniel Williams 572; Daniel Lee 278t; Judy Caudle 421; Matt Hinton 234; Jeannette DePoy 129; John Plunkett 544; Erica Hinton 534; Cheyenne Ivey 76b; Glenda Collins 81t, 566 (for Richard DeLong); Sheri Taylor 332; Cecil Roberts 340.


Daniel Williams led 278b, Winfred Kerr led 59, and Marilyn Bradley led 45t. The memorial lesson was held. Karleen Williams spoke of her mother, Vivian Rogers, and Karen Rollins offered suggestions of how to reach out to the families of the deceased and those who are sick and shut-in. The children of Lonnie and Vivian Rogers (Karen Rollins, Karleen Williams, Paige Harrod, Sherry Lovvorn, and Denney Rogers) then led 119 for the names on the lists. The list of deceased included the following: Eugene Forbes, Glenda Hopper, Mike Jones, Lilly Hopper, and Julia Laverack—Alabama; Doug Webb and Adelaide Vaughn—Texas; Andy Worthington—Arkansas; and Florice Akin—Georgia. Those on the sick and shut-in list included Norma Mincey, Judy Mincey, Charlene Wallace, Velton Chafin, Ottis Sides, Norma Dickinson, Tony Rogers, Richard DeLong, Jay Blodgett, Jack Bingham, and Don Bowen. To close the memorial lesson, Cecil Roberts offered prayer.

Leaders: Nathan Rees 298; Rebecca Over 510; Daniel Lee 489; Grandchildren of Lonnie Rogers (Randa Harris, Kayla McWhorter, Barry Rollins, Beverly Thompson, and Jade Thompson) 143; Jeannette DePoy 448b; Susan Cherones 460; Matt Hinton 556; Daniel Williams 74b; Lela Crowder 145t. After a prayer offered by John Plunkett, the class adjourned for lunch.


Rodney Ivey called the class back together by leading 389. Leaders: Anna Hinton 383; Jesse P. Karlsberg and Jarett Karlsberg 227; David Smead 181; Robert Chambless and Matthew Bullington 56t; Lauren Bock 432; Lisa Bennett and Samuel Williams 260; Eli Hinton and Lottie Hinton 47b; Laura Frey 358; Loyd Ivey 313t; Cheyenne Ivey 176b; Erica Hinton 391; Karen Clark 515; Judy Caudle 430; John Plunkett 83t; Bert Collins 155; Samuel Williams 80t; Glenda Collins 454; Sheri Taylor 182; Cecil Roberts 399b. Announcements were made. The class also voted to start the singing at 10:00 a.m. in 2020.

Denney Rogers, Rodney Ivey, and Karen Rollins led 46 as the closing song. Loyd Ivey offered the benediction.

Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Karen Rollins