Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Georgia State Christian Harmony Singing

Number 3 Railroad Street Community Center, Arnoldsville, Georgia

December 1-2, 2018

Saturday, December 1

The 9th annual Georgia State Christian Harmony Convention was held on the first Sunday and Saturday before in December. The class was called to order by Michael Spencer leading 21. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Michael Spencer 495; Shannon Primm 22b, 123 (for Dave Richardson); Lisa Bennett 346, 248 (for Merv Horst, in memory of his brother, Darryl); John Plunkett 23t, 415b; Helen Bryson 137, 189; David Smead 155, 8; Leslie Booher 396t; Billy Hollingsworth 491, 318; Nathan Rees 54, 4; John Hollingsworth 347, 63t; Hayden Arp 308, 266.


Michael Spencer led 58t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Kevin Beirne 342, 172; Eli Snyder 154, 295; Carol Huang 131, 190; Ken Tate 339, 490; Nicholas Thompson 93, 10; Laura Hodges 90, 18; Mike Richards 9, 316; Andy Ditzler 292, 317. John Plunkett prayed before the meal.


The class was reconvened by Mike Spencer leading 163t. Leaders: Danny Creel 186, 355; Lauren Bock 19, 133; Alex Forsyth 1, 38; Debora Grosse 91; Robert Kelly 145b, 125t; Christie Sinksen 548, 55b; Jerusha Wheeler 406, 164t; Chris Wilhelm 28b; Nicole Scott 184, 128t; Jesse Karlsberg 320, 338b; Michael Walker 43, 265; Cindy Tanner 51, 322; Justin Bowen 168b; Cassie Allen 176, 250t; Wanda Capps 264; Ann Jett 352; Ainslie Allen 136; Yancey Jett 354; Jane Cannon 492t.

A business meeting was held and the class elected the following officers: President—Michael Spencer; Vice President—Shannon Primm; Secretary—Jane Cannon; Treasurer—Shannon Primm.


Jane Cannon brought the class back together by leading 281t. Leaders: Leslie Booher 543; Kevin Beirne 16; Carol Huang 419t; Ken Tate 404t; Nicholas Thompson 110; Laura Hodges 364; Cindy Tanner 258; Robert Kelley 435; Nicole Scott 72t; Michael Walker 61b. Michael Spencer led 23b as the closing song. Shannon Primm offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, December 2

The Sunday session of the Georgia State Christian Harmony Convention began with Shannon Primm leading 23t. Danny Creel offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Michael Spencer 493b, 402t; Jesse Karlsberg 182; Danny Creel 82b, 167b; David Brodeur 280, 313; Ann Jett 180, 149; Chris Wilhelm 455t; Cassie Allen 63b, 281t; Lisa Bennett 534, 544; John Plunkett 48, 262; Billy Hollingsworth 74, 111b.


Michael Spencer brought the class back together by leading 448t. Leaders: Nicole Scott 27t, 143; David Smead 132, 304; Ken Tate 50, 121t; Nathan Rees 332 (for Jonathon Smith), 231; Hayden Arp 71, 6. The memorial lesson was held at this time. Kevin Beirne led 432b for the following sick and shut-ins: Charlene Wallace, Judy Mincey, Norma Mincey, Dorothy Lane, Robert Martel, Brenda Chafin, Velton Chafin, Don Bowen, Don Walker, and Charlotte Walker.

Cassie Allen led 204t (CH) for the following deceased: Robert Varkony and Polly Eskenasy—North Carolina; Doug Webb—Texas; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Mary Ellen Schrock—New York. Danny Creel closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Michael Walker 455b; Cindy Tanner 43, 85; Carol Huang 61t, 276. John Hollingsworth offered a prayer before the meal.


Jane Cannon brought the class together by leading 246. Leaders: John Hollingsworth 369, 52; Eli Snyder 150, 198; Mike Richards 223, 362; Mildred Chandler 89; Rodney Chandler 372; Terry Chandler 126; Keillor Mose 211b, 186; Ainslie Allen 117; Alex Forsyth 326, 131; Andy Ditzler 305, 3; Lauren Bock 355, 54; Justin Bowen 64; Leslie Booher 546b, 49; Kevin Beirne 144b, 138; Nicholas Thompson 281b, 59b.


Jane Cannon led 429 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Laura Hodges 26t, 417b; Michael Walker 205, 13.

A business meeting was held for the purpose of hearing committee reports. Laura Hodges and Mike Richards presented Resolutions concerning the current and future singings. Shannon Primm presented the Treasurer’s Report. The Locating Committee reported that the location for the 2019 convention will once again be Number 3 Railroad Street Community Center in Arnoldsville, Georgia. The reports were approved, and the business session was closed.

After announcements, the class closed the day by singing the Drone. Danny Creel dismissed the class with prayer.

President—Michael Spencer; Vice President—Shannon Primm; Secretary—Jane Cannon