Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B. F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention (1911 J.L. White Revision)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 20, 2015

The annual singing was called to order by John Plunkett, who led 30t for the opening song. A prayer was offered by Eric Tweedy.

The following officers were retained to serve: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson.

Leaders: John Plunkett 491b; Russ Hanson 72b, 61; Sandra Wilkinson 108t, 120; Eric Tweedy 485b, 487t; David Brodeur 484t, 490b; Andy Morse 54t, 46t; Helen Bryson 480t, 498t; Martha Ann Stegar 549b, 519; Chris Brown 396b, 545t; Oscar McGuire 155, 171; John Hollingsworth 480b; Judy Whiting 540.


The class was reconvened by John Plunkett, who led 279. Leaders: Judy Mincey 55t, 544t; Carol Hanson 313; Tom Hanson 36b, 299; Chris Wolf 68t, 319; John Plunkett 414; Russ Hanson 470; Sandra Wilkinson 501b; Eric Tweedy 492; David Brodeur 222. Andy Morse offered a prayer before the noon meal.


The class was called together by John Plunkett leading 535. Leaders: Andy Morse 526; Helen Bryson 517, 217; Chris Brown 175, 481t; Oscar McGuire 486t; John Hollingsworth 511; Chris Wolf 512.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Sandra Wilkinson. The list of sick and shut-ins included the following: Leslie Hanson, Matt Jacobs, Bessie Prince, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Myrl Jones, and Cath Tyler.

The deceased remembered were as follows: Raymond Hamrick, Joyce Harrison, and Marjorie Robinson—Georgia; Hale C. Hall—Florida; Kate Davis—Ireland. Many remarks were made, but the focus was on Raymond Hamrick, with a tribute to him because of his undying faithfulness to and love for the J.L. White Singings. Since the mid to late 1960s he very rarely missed attending as many as two or three of these singings each year. Last year he could not come to this singing due to health issues. He will be missed. We will be forever grateful to him and many other members, past and present, of the South Georgia Convention who supported our singings through the many years up to the present day. Judy Mincey then came forward and led 60 for all those who had been named to be remembered. John Plunkett closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Jerusha Wheeler 517, 74b, 77t; Judy Whiting 182, 323t; Judy Mincey 440t, 441t; Russ Hanson 491t; Tom Hanson 186, 317b; Jesse Karlsberg 508b, 515; Sandra Wilkinson and Russ Hanson 527; Sandra Wilkinson 289 (for Carol Hanson); Chris Wolf and Roxanne 288.

Following announcements, John Plunkett led 389t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Eric Tweedy.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson