Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cates, Brown, and Sheppard Memorial

Methodist Church, Muscadine, Alabama

Sunday, October 12, 2014

The annual session of the memorial Sacred Harp singing was brought to order by Rene Greene leading 40. Cecil Roberts offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 277; Pam Nunn 186; Judy Caudle 270; Virginia Dyer 340.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Rene Greene; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary and Arranging Officer—Pam Nunn.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 82b; Donna Bell 107; Robert Chambless 145t; Karen Rollins 455 (in memory of Kenneth DeLong); Edna Ruth Phillips 318 (in memory of Audress Gurley); Judy Chambless 546 (in memory of Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, and Lou Cotney); Jack Nelson 165; Tom McGraw 430 (in memory of Teenie Moody); Winfred Kerr 146; Rodney Ivey 227; Tony Hammock 229 (in memory of Teenie Moody and Stanly Edwards); Angela Myers 472; Wyatt Denney 358; Oscar McGuire 556.


Rene Greene led 155 (for Evelyn Harris) to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Fallon Cook 215; Fallon Cook, Rene Greene, Pam Nunn, Virginia Dyer, and Tony Hammock 269 (in memory Lessie Cates); Hayden Arp 293; Aldo Ceresa 375; John Plunkett 429 (for Leon Pulsinelle); Emily Eddins 93; Rebecca Over 336; B.M. Smith 28b (in memory of his mother); Susan Cherones 564; Matt Hinton 569t; Richard DeLong 202 (in memory of Lessie and Walker Cates); Chris Coughlin 69t; Robert Rivers 480; Eli Eddins and Ewan Eddins 317; Charlene Wallace 283; Richard Mauldin 43; Cheyenne Ivey 166; Ezra Eddins and Elam Eddins 276; David Smead 438. Cecil Roberts returned thanks before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Rene Greene leading 460. Leaders: Reba Windom and Rene Greene 216 (in memory of Shelbie Sheppard); Richard Ivey 211; Mike Hinton 456 (in memory of Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Jesse P. Karlsberg 195; Lisa Bennett 122 (in memory of her friend); Shane Wootten 440; Kevin Eddins 148; David Brodeur 272; Nathan Rees 315; Eli Hinton 65; Scott DePoy 48t; Kelsey Ivey 389; Evie Eddins 95; Jessica Kelso 497; Jeannette DePoy 187; Sharon DuPriest 189; John Kelso 217; Ann Simpson 445; Rene Greene and Tony Hammock 464 (for the Sheppard family); Rebecca Over 527; Aldo Ceresa 532; Chris Coughlin 138t; Nathan Rees 39b (in memory of Marie Ivey); Evie Eddins, Elam Eddins, Ezra Eddins, and Rodney Ivey 49t, 30b; Cecil Roberts 58 (by request).

Rene Greene and Cecil Roberts led 47t as the closing song. Bro. Donald Paine offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rene Greene; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Pam Nunn