Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B.F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention (1911 J.L. White Revision)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 15, 2013

John Plunkett brought the class to order by leading 30t. Eric Tweedy offered the morning prayer. John welcomed everyone, and thanked them for coming. He led 50t.

Leaders: Russ Hanson 72b; Sandra Wilkinson 63; Oscar McGuire 155; Helen Bryson 38t; Kathy Smith 45t; Lisa Bennett 38b; J.R. Hardman 517; Henry Johnson 274b; Eric Tweedy 274t; Judy Mincey 54t; Malinda Snow and Casey Cameron 55t; Carol Hanson 331t; Mary Brownlee 496b; David Smead 37t; Tom Hanson 512; Russ Hanson 511; Jesse Karlsberg 489t; Sandra Wilkinson 118b; Kathy Smith 502.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson.


John Plunkett brought the class back in session leading 535. Leaders: Eric Tweedy 499t; Liz Bryant and Judy Mincey 544t (for Sharon Kellam); Oscar McGuire 276; Matt Hinton 283t; J.R. Hardman 547t; Lisa Bennett 546t; Helen Bryson 217; Erica Hinton 545b; Malinda Snow and Casey Cameron 34t; Henry Johnson 32b; Faye Holbrook 67; Carol Hanson 270; Mary Brownlee 527; Jesse Karlsberg 284t; Liz Bryant 540. Matt Hinton offered prayer for the noon meal.


John Plunkett brought the class back together leading 325. Leaders: David Smead 490t; Tom Hanson 299; Lauren Bock 385t; Andy Morse 515; Chris Tweedy 384; Jeannette DePoy 490b.

A beautiful and inspirational memorial lesson was conducted by Helen Bryson, who led 498t for both the sick and shut-ins and the deceased. Sick and shut-ins listed were the following: Sharon Kellam, Jetha Brooks, and John Aldridge. The deceased remembered were Violet Thomason, Gertrude DeLong, Nancy Yeager, and Anita Jones—Georgia; Bud Oliver and Jeff Sheppard—Alabama. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Eric Tweedy.

Leaders: Judy Mincey 35; Malinda Snow and Casey Cameron 138b; Russ Hanson 526 (for Leslie Hanson); Sandra Wilkinson 509; Kathy Smith 159; Oscar McGuire 522; Lisa Bennett 395t; J.R. Hardman 40; Jesse Karlsberg 436t; Henry Johnson 491t; Mary Brownlee 287; Eric Tweedy 478b; Faye Holbrook 317b; David Smead 204; Carol Hanson, Tom Hanson, Russ Hanson, and Sandra Wilkinson, as a quartette, sang 488b and 389t; Andy Morse 486t; Lauren Bock 442b; Jeannette DePoy 492; Chris Tweedy 171; Tom Hanson 491b.

Following announcements and closing remarks, John Plunkett and Russ Hanson led 26 in the back of the book. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Henry Johnson.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson