Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Georgia Singing

State Botanical Garden of Georgia, Athens, Georgia

Sunday, February 24, 2013

The annual meeting of the University of Georgia Singing was held in the Visitor Center of the State Botanical Garden of Georgia on the fourth Sunday in February. The class was called to order by John Hollingsworth leading 191 (ScH). The opening prayer was offered by Nathan Rees, followed by welcoming remarks by the Chairman.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Hollingsworth; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretaries—Shannon Primm and Judy Mincey; Arranging Committee—Lauren Bock and Jesse Perlman Karlsberg.

The Social Harp, complied by Hart County native John Gordon McCurry, was used for all lessons of the first two sessions. Leaders: Michael Spencer 37 (ScH); Shannon Primm 183 (ScH); Judy Mincey 51 (ScH); Bruce King 156 (ScH); Lauren Bock 103 (ScH); John Plunkett 134 (ScH); Nathan Rees 153 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 127 (ScH); Robert Kelley 195 (ScH); B.M. Smith 83 (ScH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 19 (ScH); Bill Hollingsworth 182 (ScH); David Farmer 98 (ScH); Michael Spencer 200 (ScH); Judy Mincey 135 (ScH); Bruce King 55b (ScH); John Hollingsworth 54b (ScH); Lauren Bock 60 (ScH); Robert Kelley 192 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 34 (ScH); Shannon Primm 71 (ScH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 193 (ScH); Nathan Rees 202 (ScH); Karen Redwine 79b (ScH) (dedicated to Bucky Redwine); Bill Hollingsworth 31 (ScH); John Plunkett 106 (ScH); B.M. Smith 44 (ScH).


The class reconvened with John Hollingsworth leading 250 (ScH). Leaders: Bruce King 173 (ScH); Matt Hinton 61b (ScH); Oscar McGuire 87 (ScH); Shannon Primm 154 (ScH); John Plunkett 138 (ScH); Nathan Rees 159 (ScH); Michael Spencer 253 (ScH); Lauren Bock 149 (ScH); B.M. Smith 142 (ScH); Bill Hollingsworth 86 (ScH); Robert Kelley 100 (ScH); Judy Mincey 105 (ScH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 155 (ScH); Matt Hinton 56 (ScH); John Plunkett 139 (ScH); Nathan Rees 131 (ScH); Erica Hinton 218t (ScH); Oscar McGuire 212 (ScH); Robert Kelley 170 (ScH). Matt Hinton asked the blessing before the noon meal.


The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, was used for all lessons of the last two sessions. John Hollingsworth called the class back to order leading 31t. Leaders: Lauren Bock 284; Judith Parker 168; B.M. Smith 82t; Erica Hinton 138t; Kevin Kelley 155; Christy Sinksen 448t; Bill Hollingsworth 180; David Farmer 455; Jane Spencer 548; Jackie Elsner 159; Matt Hinton 481; Charlene Wallace 299; Anna Hinton 300; Judy Mincey 538; Bruce King 268; Nathan Rees 161; Michael Spencer 191; Robert Kelley 476; Shannon Primm 112; John Plunkett 175.


The class was called back to order by John Hollingsworth leading 176t.

Leaders: Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 185; Oscar McGuire 229; Jackie Elsner 569b; Winston Stephens 503; David Farmer 567; Lauren Bock, Judy Mincey, and Judith Parker 144; Robert Kelley and John Plunkett 276; Jane Spencer, Dorothy Lane, and Shannon Primm 349; B.M. Smith and Nathan Rees 270; Michael Spencer and Bill Hollingsworth 370; Matt Hinton 99; Robert Kelley 178 (by request).

After announcements, John Hollingsworth led 347, followed by the closing prayer offered by John Plunkett.

Chairman—John Hollingsworth; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretaries—Shannon Primm and Judy Mincey