Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

W.L. Green Memorial and Baldwin County
Sacred Harp Convention (Cooper Edition)

Church of Christ Fellowship Hall, Bay Minette, Alabama

January 26-27, 2013

Saturday, January 26

The W. L. “Bill” Green Memorial and Baldwin County Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 555. He extended a warm welcome to all in attendance. He led 36b. The opening prayer was offered by Roberta Strauss.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairmen—J.A. Mosley and Rodney Ivey; Chaplain—Roberta Strauss; Arranging Officer—Nancy Hogan; Secretary—Mary Whitehurst; Memorial Committee—Victoria Aplin and Henry McGuire.

Leaders: J.A. Mosley 491; Mary Whitehurst 82; Nate Green and Norma Green 488; Alice Mosley 484; Nancy Hogan 309; B.M. Smith 559; Henry Johnson 243t; Wayne Jones 502; Henry McGuire 524; Voncile Nall 507b; Paul Figura 587; Sue Bunch 293b; Danny Creel 355; Roberta Strauss 203; Marion Patrick 358.


The class was brought back together by Rodney Ivey leading 98. Leaders: Barbara Jones 276; Ann Jett 515; Ken Kelley 163t; Judy Caudle 416t; Richard Mauldin 271t; Mary Amelia Taylor 373; Eva Padgett 47b; Paul White 235; Adrian Nall 393; Stanley Smith 127 (in memory of Christine Gandy and W. L. Green); Morgan Bunch 497; Lauren Bock 140; Joe Nall 211; Steve Helwig 380b; Billy Kelley 100.


Bill Hogan and Mary Whitehurst led 591 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Ernest Cockcroft 553; Tim Taylor 77t; Wanda Capps 505; Aubrey Barfield 522; John Kelley 405.

The Chairman recognized Cleo Murphy and the Vocal Choir from the Greater Mt. Olive Baptist Church #2, Mobile, Alabama, (Cleo Murphy, Mary Murphy, Annie Smith, Mary Pettway, Deborah Pettway, Sandra Stuart, and Terris Dillard) who sang “Each Moment of Time” and “I Found the Way”. The class sang 369, and Richard Mauldin offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Bill Hogan leading 520. The Chairman thanked everyone for the wonderful lunch, and announced cards available to sign for the sick and shut-ins. Leaders: Nancy Van Den Acker 143; Hubert Nall 511t; Judy Chambless 336b; Tim Jones 120; The Eddins Family 96; Betty Shepherd 216; Victoria Aplin 270 (for Bud Oliver); Will Menas, Christopher Menas, Jackson Chamberlain, and J.A. Mosley 72; Sharon DuPriest 229; Bill Aplin 584; Angela Myers 464; Ken Sundberg 53; Jesse Karlsberg 552, 594; Daphene Causey 137; Wanda Gregg 572; Scott Ivey 380t; Georgeanna Presnell 59; Drew McGuire 142; Leigh Cooper 571; Alice Sundberg 159; Karen Willard 423; Robert Chambless 145b; Shirley Figura 361; Ann Fox 87; Mark Godfrey 504b; Jackson Fleder 38t; Tommie Spurlock 574 (by request); Ben Fox 443; Wynette Smith 146; Lloyd Jones and Loretta Jones 463, 138t; Steve Helwig 589 (by request).

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Rodney Ivey, J.A. Mosley, and Morgan Bunch led 516 as the closing song. Roberta Strauss closed the session with prayer.

Sunday, January 27

The Sunday morning session was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 68b. Afterwards he gave a short devotional, and the class recited Psalm 23. Bill led 32t. Roberta Strauss offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: J.A. Mosley 195; Rodney Ivey 129; Nate Green and Norma Green 41; Alice Mosley 343; Mary Whitehurst 466; Nancy Hogan 171; B. M. Smith 28b; Voncile Nall 450; Reba Windom 478; Wynette Smith 49b; Lloyd Jones and Loretta Jones 45t, 465.


Bill Hogan brought the class back together by leading 168. Leaders: Karen Willard 504t; Adrian Nall 484; Drew McGuire 408; Karen Rollins 123t; Ben Fox 435; Henry McGuire 518; Shannon Guinn 220; Tommie Spurlock 112; Dana Merritt Foster, with daughters Lucy and Halen 392 (in memory of John Merritt); Jackson Fleder 387; Mark Godfrey 440b; Ann Fox 59; Shirley Figura 273.


Robert Chambless led 159 to bring the class back together. The Memorial Committee was recognized to present the memorial lesson. Victoria Aplin recited Psalm 100, and talked about the privilege of being part of the Sacred Harp family. Sacred Harp is music, praise, commitment, testimony, and invitation. Henry McGuire read the following list of sick and shut-ins: Jim Hearne, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Josie Hyde, Stella Pratt, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Martha Jane Fowler, Buna Mae Purvis, Louise Powell, Betty Wright, Wilburn Ellison, and Willodean Thrash. Henry led 385t.

Henry McGuire talked about the legacy of those on the deceased list, and the memories we have of singing with them. He then read the following list of deceased: John Merritt and Bernice Embry—Mississippi; Harrison Creel, Pauline Griggs, Leona Haynes, Earnie Jett, Charles Creel, Bill Tanner, Bill Farris, Cecil Sanders, and Winell Sanders—Alabama; Ruth Johnson, Pearl Bell, and Juanita Hill—Florida; Lonnie Rogers and Violet Thomason—Georgia; Lee Steinmetz—Illinois,. He led 410 in memory of the deceased. Victoria Aplin led 377t. Roberta Strauss offered the prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Singing continued with the following leaders: Aubrey Barfield 240; Brian Kelley 63; Delores Lee, Melinda Lee, and Rodney Ivey 47t. The class sang 369, and Roberta Strauss offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The class was called back to order for the afternoon session by Aubrey Barfield leading 214. Leaders: Jesse Karlsberg 210; Leigh Cooper 269; Scott Ivey 567; Billy Kelley 442t; Erica Martinez and Betty Shepherd 428, 101t; Angela Myers 486; Steve Helwig 458; Tim Jones 310; Lauren Bock 494; Paul Figura 538; Morgan Bunch 514; Stanley Smith 181; Judy Caudle 86, 563 (for Bud Oliver); Roberta Strauss 384 (for Coy Ivey); Sue Bunch 148; Cooper Smith 388; Wayne Jones 76b (in memory of John Etheridge); Barbara Jones 277; Henry Johnson 265b; McKenzie Smith Flynn 559.

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Rodney Ivey, J.A. Mosley, and Nate Green led 331t as the closing song. Roberta Strauss closed the convention with prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairmen—J.A. Mosley and Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Mary Whitehurst