Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Georgia State Christian Harmony Convention

Shiloh Primitive Baptist Church, Tallapoosa, Georgia

December 1-2, 2012

Saturday, December 1

The 3rd annual Georgia State Christian Harmony Convention was held the first Sunday and Saturday before in December at Shiloh Primitive Baptist Church, Tallapoosa, Georgia. Mike Spencer called the class to order leading 267. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer.

President Mike Spencer announced that officers elected the year before to serve for this convention are as follows: President-Mike Spencer; Vice President-Bill Hollingsworth; Secretary-John Plunkett; Treasurer-Shannon Primm. The Locating committee serving from the previous year includes Judy Mincey, Hugh McGraw, and John Plunkett. Appointed committees for this year are as follows: Arranging Officer—Jane Spencer; Memorial Committee—Michael Walker and Bill Hollingsworth; Resolutions Committee: Chris Wilhelm and Robert Kelley.

Leaders: Bill Hollingsworth 137; John Plunkett 402b; Jane Spencer 409t; Eddie Mash 419t; Robert Kelley 5b, Leslie Booher 294; Tim Cook 486t; Judy Mincey 50; Joan Aldridge 31t; Judy Caudle 51; Henry Johnson 470; Mary Ellen Schrock 189; Michael Thompson 80; Angela Myers 10; Gary Smith 264; Mako Cook 421b; Andreas Manz 130b; Danny Creel 186; Jesse P. Karlsberg 138; Ann Jett 59b; Nathan Rees 533.


Mike Spencer called the class back together by leading 30b. Leaders: Wanda Capps 170; Darlene Reynolds 142; Hayden Arp 316; Lauren Bock 192; Darrell Swarens 81t; Ken Tate 121t; Henry Schuman 42; Michael Walker 97; Mike Spencer 495; Sarah Beasley 76b; Erica Hinton 123; Matt Hinton 346; Bill Hollingsworth 227; John Plunkett 455t. Matt Hinton offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Mike Spencer led 193t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Jane Spencer 429; Eddie Mash 432b; Robert Kelley 6; Leslie Booher 393b; Tim Cook 543; Judy Mincey 133; Joan Aldridge 19; Judy Caudle 172; Henry Johnson 281t; Mary Ellen Schrock 180; Michael Thompson 168b; Angela Myers 214; Gary Smith 46t; Mako Cook 490; Andreas Manz 225b; Danny Creel 63t; Jesse P. Karlsberg 296; Ann Jett 149; Nathan Rees 394; Wanda Capps 176; Darlene Reynolds 131.


Jane Spencer called the class back together leading 235. Leaders: Erica Hinton 41t; Lauren Bock 54; Darrell Swarens 238; Ken Tate 497b; Sarah Beasley 548; Matt Hinton 171; Henry Schuman 372; Michael Walker 262.

Mike Spencer led 225t as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, December 2

The Sunday session of the Georgia State Christian Harmony Convention was brought to order by Bill Hollingsworth leading 428. The opening prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts.

Leaders: Mike Spencer 166; John Plunkett 509b; Jane Spencer 64; John Hollingsworth 307; Nathan Rees 4, Darlene Reynolds 291; Henry Schuman 184; Mary Ellen Schrock 82b; Sarah Beasley 121t; Michael Walker 103; Cecil Roberts 142; Darrell Swarens 341; Andreas Manz 395; Hayden Arp 172.


Mike Spencer called the class back leading 338t; Jesse P. Karlsberg 339; Henry Johnson 467b; Joan Aldridge 280; Robert Kelley 540; Leslie Booher 513; Judy Mincey 512.

The convention moved into a business session. The class voted to retain the same officers for the 2013 convention. The results of the vote from the 2011 convention were reviewed, with the decision that the date of the convention would remain the first Sunday and Saturday before in December. Judy Mincey offered the Locating Committee recommendation that the convention had been requested by Harmony Primitive Baptist Church in Calhoun, Georgia. The class voted unanimously to accept this recommendation. The class also voted to submit the minutes of the convention to be included in the Sacred Harp Singings minutes book, however no minutes books will be received. It was reported that the Christian Harmony Music Company has been granted 501 (c) (3) non-profit status. A motion was made from the Finance committee that the Convention account be managed through the Christian Harmony Music Company, and this was approved by the class. The business meeting was adjourned.

Leaders: Gary Smith 135; Tony Hammock 11; Eddie Mash 424; Chris Wilhelm 57; Bill Hollingsworth 369; Mike Spencer 13; John Plunkett 462t; Jane Spencer and Nathan Rees 544. John Plunkett offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Mike Spencer began the afternoon session by leading 410b. Leaders: Shannon Primm 114; Henry Schuman and Linda Hellerich 189; Mary Ellen Schrock 180; Robert Kelley 485; Tony Hammock 318; Sarah Beasley 524; Michael Walker 364; Darrell Swarens 91.

Michael Walker conducted the memorial lesson and led 254t for the sick and the shut-ins. Bill Hollingsworth led 507t in memory of the deceased. The memorial lesson was closed with a prayer offered by Mike Spencer.

Leaders: Andreas Manz 330; Jesse P. Karlsberg 332; Henry Johnson 274; Leslie Booher 89; Judy Mincey 16; Gary Smith 347; Eddie Mash 315.


Bill Hollingsworth called the class back together by leading 32b. The class re-opened the business session and the Resolutions report was read by Robert Kelley as follows: We, the Resolutions Committee, on behalf of the Georgia State Christian Harmony Convention. wish to express appreciation to Shiloh Primitive Baptist Church for hosting the convention, and specifically would like to thank Ellen Winters and Mildred Patterson for their hospitality and hard work in making this a pleasant place for our singing and fellowship. We are grateful for all who have participated in serving on committees or as officers, for setting pitch for the singing, for arranging the song leaders, for preparing and contributing food for our dinner, or simply for traveling many miles to be among our band. We hope that our songs and worship have been pleasing to the Lord, and we resolve to convene again next year at Harmony Primitive Baptist Church in Calhoun, Georgia, on the first Sunday and Saturday before in December—Respectfully submitted, Chris Wilhelm and Robert Kelley. The resolutions report was accepted and approved by the convention, and the business session adjourned.

Leaders: Shannon Primm 43; Mary Ellen Schrock 149; Michael Walker 510b; Tony Hammock 143; Darrell Swarens 117; Andreas Manz 58b; Henry Schuman and Linda Hellerich 85.

Bill Hollingsworth led 549b (“The Drone”) as the closing song. John Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer.

President—Mike Spencer; Vice President—Bill Hollingsworth; Secretary—John Plunkett