Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Georgia

State Botanical Garden, Athens, Georgia

Sunday, February 26, 2012

The 40th annual meeting of The University of Georgia Singing was held in the visitor center of the State Botanical Garden, Athens, Georgia, on the fourth Sunday in February. The class was called to order by John Hollingsworth leading 86 (ScH). The opening prayer was offered by John Plunkett, followed by welcoming remarks from the Chairman.

A brief business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Hollingsworth; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretary—Shannon Primm; Arranging Officer—Judy Mincey.

The Social Harp, complied by Hart County native John Gordon McCurry, was used for all lessons of the first two hours. Leaders: John Hollingsworth 152 (ScH); Michael Spencer 200 (ScH); Shannon Primm 193 (ScH); John Plunkett 218t (ScH); Judy Mincey 53 (ScH); Robert Kelley 153 (ScH); Lauren Bock 34 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 74 (ScH); Jackie Elsner 37 (ScH); B.M. Smith 84 (ScH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 31 (ScH); Chris Wilhelm 184 (ScH); Jane Spencer 51 (ScH); Bill Hollingsworth 182 (ScH); Martha Ann Stegar 155 (ScH); Bruce King 156 (ScH); John Hollingsworth 250 (ScH); Michael Spencer 253 (ScH); Shannon Primm 75 (ScH); John Plunkett 28 (ScH); Chris Wilhelm 44 (ScH); Robert Kelley 35 (ScH); Karen Redwine 114 (ScH); Margie Dietz 186 (ScH); Nate Zweig 85 (ScH).


The class reconvened with John Hollingsworth leading 159 (ScH). Leaders: Bill Hollingsworth 137 (ScH); Judy Mincey 198 (ScH); Lauren Bock 195 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 158 (ScH); Jackie Elsner 190b (ScH); B.M. Smith 148 (ScH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 170 (ScH); Chris Wilhelm 199 (ScH); Bruce King 173 (ScH); Martha Ann Stegar 87 (ScH); Jane Spencer 61t (ScH); Karen Redwine 63 (ScH); Margie Dietz 101 (ScH); Nate Zweig 185 (ScH); John Hollingsworth 79b (ScH). John Hollingsworth asked the blessing before the noon meal.


The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, was used for the remainder of the singing. John Hollingsworth called the class back to order leading 138t. Leaders: Bill Hollingsworth 236; Michael Spencer 278t; John Plunkett 197; Shannon Primm 186 (in honor of Elsie Hollingsworth); Judy Mincey 492; Robert Kelley 375; Lauren Bock 272; Jackie Elsner 569b; Oscar McGuire 441; B.M. Smith 318; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 208; Chris Wilhelm 376; Martha Ann Stegar 198; Bruce King 268; Karen Redwine 494; Margie Dietz 58; Kevin Kelly 66; Christy Sinksen and Paul Sinksen 448t; Leif Carter 38b.


John Hollingsworth called the class back together by leading 114. Leaders: Jane Spencer 53; Michael Spencer 166b; Shannon Primm 284; John Plunkett 391; Robert Kelley 386; Lauren Bock 407; Nate Zweig 155; Oscar McGuire 485; B.M. Smith 348b; Chris Wilhelm 228; Leif Carter 63; Margie Dietz 347; Karen Redwine 161; Rick Littlefield and Judy Mincey 178.

After announcements, John Hollingsworth led 62 as the closing song. John Plunkett offered a closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—John Hollingsworth; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretary—Shannon Primm